CeeBees unite with Cari­bous

Com­bined team to com­pete for Al­lan Cup this week


Fans of the Con­cep­tion Bay North East­link Cee­Bee Stars may be sur­prised to learn that 10 of the team’s best play­ers have agreed to join the Clarenville Cari­bous.

But there’s no cause for alarm, for as of now, it’s only a tem­po­rary ar­range­ment.

The CeeBees and the Cari­bous will join forces from April 11-16 in Kenora, Ont., for the 2011 Al­lan Cup. The event, founded in 1908, is the na­tional cham­pi­onship for ama­teur se­nior hockey.

It will be a first-time ex­pe­ri­ence for CeeBees cap­tain Matthew Thomey, who is look­ing for­ward to play­ing for Canada’s premier se­nior hockey tro­phy.

“It’s the No. 1 se­nior hockey tour­na­ment in Canada, so the competition is go­ing to be very tough. I look at the lineup, and we’re pretty deep.”

It was back in De­cem­ber that the Cee­Bee Stars or­ga­ni­za­tion was first con­tacted about the pos­si­bil­ity of join­ing forces with the Cari­bous, and Thomey got word in Fe­bru­ary the team was specif­i­cally in­ter­ested in us­ing him for the tour­na­ment.

“ I had to hash out a cou­ple of is­sues with ex­ams (at school) to make it work, but I got that straight­ened away,” said Thomey.

Play­ing with Cari­bous who took part in last year’s Al­lan Cup will ben­e­fit new­com­ers like Thomey, he said. It may also be a strange expe- • — Jeremy Ka­vanagh, Andrew Hill, * Matthew French, *Mike Dyke, * Bran­don Roach, Travis Chap­man, David Vic­tor and Jor­dan Smith. • — * Matthew Thomey, * Scott Bro­phy, * Ryan De­laney, Brad Crann, Dustin Rus­sell,Mitch Oake, * Chris Cros­bie, * Chris Sparkes, * Sean Wad­den, Dale Sullivan, * Chris Bartlett and Ryan Power.

— Lee Smith and Ja­son Churchill (* de­notes play­ers from the Con­cep­tion Bay North Cee­Bee Stars) ri­ence wear­ing the jer­sey of a team that de­feated the Cee­Bee Stars in two straight Herder fi­nals in 2009 and 2010.

Cee­Bee Stars coach Ian Moores was ini­tially plan­ning to travel with the team as an as­sis­tant coach, but he has since dropped out due to work com­mit­ments.

“I hope the team has a great time and great suc­cess,” he said. “I’m glad there’s a lot of play­ers go­ing to rep­re­sent our team.”

The last team to win the Al­lan Cup from New­found­land and Labrador was the Cor­ner Brook Roy­als, who were re­peat win­ners in 1985 and 1986.

Chris Sparkes (left) Matthew Thomey and Sean Wad­den, seen here in Game 2 of the Tele­gram Herder Me­mo­rial Cham­pi­onship se­ries last month, are all set to join the Clarenville Cari­bous’ ros­ter for the 2011 Al­lan Cup in Kenora, Ont.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.