An­nual awards in Har­bour Grace

Town rec­og­nizes res­i­dents for lo­cal con­tri­bu­tions


Har­bour Grace res­i­dents of all ages filed into the Har­bour Breeze for the town’s an­nual awards ban­quet on May 4 to see cur­rent and for­mer res­i­dents re­ceive recog­ni­tion in sports and vol­un­teerism for 2012.

Some 75 peo­ple were in at­ten­dance to sup­port the achieve­ments of ath­letes, hall of fame in­ductees and ap­pre­ci­a­tion award re­cip­i­ents dur­ing the event, which in­cluded wine and fin­ger foods.

There were 12 cat­e­gories of awards this year, in­clud­ing the pres­ti­gious 2012 Cit­i­zen of the Year award which was awarded to Joseph P. Ge­orge.

“Joey has been an out­stand­ing cit­i­zen for the last 40-plus years con­tribut­ing to our town and to the so­cial, eco­nomic, ath­letic and aca­demic en­vi­ron­ment that we live in to­day,” Mayor Don Coombs spoke about how de­serv­ing Ge­orge was of the award

A vol­un­teer com­mit­tee made up of mem­bers from the town chose the re­cip­i­ent based on his town in­volve­ment, vol­un­teer ac­tiv­i­ties and his ded­i­ca­tion to vol­un­teer or­ga­ni­za­tions for the past 40 years.

Ge­orge is a well-known en­tity in the town and has vol­un­teered with dozens of groups and teams since the early 1970s in­clud­ing the Har­bour Grace soc­cer as­so­ci­a­tion.

He has been a prom­i­nent face in the hockey com­mu­nity for many years, was the di­rec­tor of the 1992 New­found­land and Labrador Sum­mer Games in Car­bon­ear and Har­bour Grace and was co-chair 2012 Sum­mer Games.

Sports awards



The 2012 male ath­lete of the year is no stranger to the Aero ten­nis courts in Har­bour Grace where he has been an in­struc­tor for three years.

Lo­gan An­der­son played hockey with the de­funct TriPen AAA ma­jor midget hockey team and the Cee­Bees midget team. He was awarded with the 2012 top phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion stu­dent at his school, and is a straight “A” stu­dent at Car­bon­ear Col­le­giate. He also takes part in many school sports.

Fe­male ath­lete of the year for 2012 was awarded to Court­ney Coombs. She is a mem­ber of the lo­cal vol­ley­ball or­ga­ni­za­tion and com­peted with the host team at the New­found­land Sum­mer Games last year in ball hockey and ten­nis.

Coombs was a mem­ber of the Avalon al­ls­tar girls un­der-16 soc­cer team, won a sil­ver award in girls’ bas­ket­ball and is a mem­ber of Car­bon­ear Col­le­giate’s bad­minton, soft­ball and cheer­lead­ing teams.

Coombs’ sis­ter, Paige, was given the New­found­land Sum­mer Games schol­ar­ship for the 2012 games. The award was first handed out 20 years ago dur­ing the last time they hosted the games.

El­iz­a­beth Baker was the re­cip­i­ent of the Paul Mo­ri­arty Me­mo­rial Sport Vol­un­teer of the Year award. It is awarded to an in­di­vid­ual in the sports com­mu­nity who has demon­strated ded­i­ca­tion and con­tin­u­ous in­volve­ment with the town and its recre­ational groups.

She was ac­knowl­edged her 20-year com­mit­ment to the Har­bour Grace Re­gatta com­mit­tee and has been part of the mi­nor hockey as­so­ci­a­tion where she holds two co­or­di­na­tors po­si­tion. She also vol­un­teers with the Car­bon­ear Gen­eral Hos­pi­tal aux­il­iary and is a mem­ber of the Har­bour Grace Pri­mary school coun­cil.

Team awards

The Har­bour Grace team of the year was no sur­prise to those in at­ten­dance.

Lo­cal mem­bers from the 2012 New­found­land and Labrador Sum­mer Games team were awarded with cer­tifi­cates and the pres­ti­gious ti­tle of Team of the Year.

Mem­bers took part in nu­mer­ous events, in­clud­ing ball hockey, soc­cer, swim­ming, beach vol­ley­ball and many more.

The town also in­ducted a sports team into the Sports Hall of Fame.

The Har­bour Grace Pi­rates fast­pitch soft­ball team played in 1982 at the old base­ball field in River­head, Har­bour Grace. Their 30-year an­niver­sary in 2012 earned them the hon­our at the event.

Mem­bers of the team came from dif­fer­ent parts of the prov­ince to re­ceive the hon­our, and each one was rein­tro­duced to nick­names from their for­mer ball-play­ing days.

Mayor recog­ni­tion

Ev­ery per­son that has held the po­si­tion of Mayor in the Town of Har- bour Grace re­ceived a recog­ni­tion award called the Mayor’s Chain of Of­fice Recog­ni­tion.

From 1945 to the present, 11 men held the po­si­tion. Each one was hon­oured with a medal and cer­tifi­cate for their con­tri­bu­tions to the town.

Fam­ily mem­bers were present to ac­cept the awards on be­half of those who are de­ceased or could not at­tend.

The Mu­nic­i­pal Ser­vice award was pre­sented to Counc. Wal­ter Walsh for 12 years of ded­i­cated ser­vice to the town. He is also the son to for­mer mayor Wal­ter P. Walsh.

Re­cip­i­ents of the Mayor’s Recog­ni­tion Awards were Dr. Lonz But­ton for 37 years of ser­vice in the town and Dr. Ger­ald Power for 44 years of town con­tri­bu­tions.

Mayor Coombs said Har­bour Grace is the only mu­nic­i­pal­ity in the prov­ince to have th­ese awards.

The event also saw the nam­ing of a new street in Har­bour Grace. A road in a new de­vel­op­ment will be named Alec Moores Court af­ter the for­mer mayor.


Pho­tos by Melissa Jenk­ins/spe­cial to The Com­pass

Team of the Year was pre­sented to the lo­cal mem­bers of the New­found­land and Labrador Sum­mer Games team. Pic­tured are: front (l-r) — Paige Coombs, Sa­man­tha Pike, Sarah Par­sons, Stacey Pike, Cam­ryn Tay­lor and Syd­ney Hunt; mid­dle — Dakota Shep­pard, Lu­cas Baker, Court­ney Coombs, Ter­i­lyn Barnes, Jennifer Reid and Kait­lyn Noel; back — coach Tay­lor An­der­son, Sarah Pynn, Mitchell Ped­dle, Zachary Quinlan, Bran­don Lynch and Lo­gan An­der­son; miss­ing from photo — Lu­cas Lynch, Bri­anne Chafe, Rebecca Tay­lor, Hay­ley Yet­man, Kyle Jones, Nicholas O’Neil, Daniel Sparkes, Bri­anna Meadus, Kristen Shute, Ryan Cashin, Ryan Jones, Erin Jones, Gre­gory Don­nelly, Adam Jones, Adam Slade, Mitchell Bai­ley, Ryan Comb­den, Paige His­cock, Kate Pike, Re­gan Reynolds, Ree­gan Wil­liams, Ed­ward Don­nelly, Con­nor Par­sons, Daniel Pike, Matthew Thomey, Kelsey Shute, Tyler Byrne, Ryan Wil­liams, Mark Ped­dle, Me­gan Thomey and Peter Ge­orge.

The 1982, Har­bour Grace Pi­rates fast­pitch soft­ball team was in­ducted into the town’s Sports Hall of Fame. In at­ten­dance for the pre­sen­ta­tion were: front (l-r) — Dave Reg­u­lar, Paul McCarthy, David Coombs, Don Coombs and Val Perry; back — P.J. Coombs, Derek Gal­way, Peter Shep­pard, Larry O’Shea and Keith McCarthy; miss­ing from photo — Eric Sto­laz, Harry Hunt, Brian Do­ran, John Mor­ris­sey, Wayne Grant, Rick Quinn, Ce­cil Byrne and Leo Gal­way.

Har­bour Grace res­i­dent Joey Ge­orge was awarded the town’s Cit­i­zen of the Year Award for 2012. Ge­orge was given a plaque and a clock shaped like a ship’s wheel for his 40 years of con­tin­u­ous ser­vice and ded­i­ca­tion to the town.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.