Cee­Bees mi­nor cel­e­brates an­other year

The Compass - - SPORTS - — Wendy Pen­ney is pres­i­dent of the Cee­Bees mi­nor hockey.

The Cee­Bees Mi­nor Hockey As­so­ci­a­tion helds its an­nual year-end ban­quet at the Til­ton Bingo Hall on May 20.

For the first time, the Cee­Bees sep­a­rated their ban­quet into two groups.

The ju­nior ban­quet con­sisted of be­gin­ner, pre-squirt, squirt and novice aged play­ers, while the se­nior ban­quet brought to­gether play­ers from atom to midget. The ju­nior ban­quet went in the af­ter­noon, while the se­nior ran in the early evening.

The ban­quets are the an­nual cel­e­bra­tion for an­other suc­cess­ful year at sta­di­ums all across this prov­ince, and the Har­bour Grace-based as­so­ci­a­tion is no dif­fer­ent.

Cee­Bees mi­nor pres­i­dent Wendy Pen­ney sub­mit­ted a run­down of this year’s fes­tiv­i­ties. It states as fol­lows:

Ap­prox­i­mately 200 play­ers and par­ents at­tended the ju­nior ban­quet.

All of the play­ers who at­tended the ban­quet re­ceived tro­phy and Cee­bees hat. The as­so­ci­a­tion of­feres con­grat­u­la­tions to Colby Bar­rett on win­ning a trip with the Chev­o­let Fun and Safe Hockey pro­gram. He will be trav­el­ling to Van­cou­ver along with his fam­ily to par­tic­i­pate in a hockey school run by Bos­ton Bru­ins’ le­gend Bobby Orr. Con­grat­u­la­tions from the Cee­Bees to Colby.

It was a suc­cess­ful year for the grass­roots pro­gram and the num- bers have cer­tainly in­creased. We con­grat­u­late all the play­ers for a suc­cess­ful year and a huge thanks to the coaches/co-or­di­na­tors for mak­ing it a suc­cess­ful pro­gram for our young play­ers.

Se­nior Ban­quet

At the se­nior ban­quet, ap­prox­i­mately 420 play­ers and par­ents at­tended the se­nior ban­quet on May 20.

Awards were handed out at the event, and they in­clude the fol­low­ing re­cip­i­ents:

• Max Shute me­mo­rial male player of the year — Bran­don Clarke;

• Max Shute me­mo­rial fe­male player of the year — Re­gan Mor­ris;

• Of­fi­cial of the year (Cee­Bees mi­nor hockey) — Bran­don Lynch;

• Ref­eree Schol­ar­ship in Mem­ory of Gord Dean, pre­sented by Cee­Bees Mi­nor Hockey Bingo — Ja­son Pen­ney;

• Vol­un­teer of the year in Mem­ory of Craig Shute — Stephen Verge;

Esso Awards were given out to all teams from the atom di­vi­sion to the midget di­vi­sion, as well as the girls di­vi­sion. The as­so­ci­a­tion also took the time to rec­og­nize all of the teams and play­ers who brought home provin­cial medals this sea­son. The pee­wee A team who cap­tured a gold medal pre­sented the provin­cial ban­ner to the as­so­ci­a­tion at the event.

The pee­wee B team was also rec­og­nized for win­ning the fi­nal An­drew Me­mo­rial Tour­na­ment, who pre­sented the ban­ner to the as­so­ci­a­tion. The team also they raised the 4th most fundrais­ing funds in ex­cess of $3,500 in aid of the me­mo­rial tour­na­ment.

Like the ju­nior ban­qeut, all se­nior play­ers were pre­sented with hats from the Cee­Bees mi­nor hockey ex­ec­u­tive.

Our se­nior di­vi­sions were very suc­cess­ful win­ning many tour­na­ments this year and bring­ing home four medals from the provin­cial tour­na­ments. Again, a huge thank you to the play­ers for a suc­cess­ful year and to the coaches/co-or­di­na­tors for mak­ing a pro­grams a suc­cess.

I would like to thank the par­ents who helped all year with tour­na­ments and games, es­pe­cially in help­ing with both year-end ban­quets. With­out the vol­un­teerism within our or­ga­ni­za­tion a lot of what we do with our pro­grams would not be pos­si­ble. I also want to thank you to our bingo vol­un­teer groups who sup­port us dur­ing the year with the tremen­dous mone­tary con­tri­bu­tion. You make mi­nor hockey a re­al­iza­tion for a lot of play­ers.

Pho­tos by Pam Whe­lan/spe­cial to The Com­pass

Bran­don Lynch (left) is given the ref­eree-of-the-year award by Cee­Bees’ ref­eree-in-chief Dean Whe­lan.

Bran­don Clarke (left) and Re­gan Mor­ris were named the male and fe­male ath­letes of the year.

Stephen Verge (sec­ond from right) was rec­og­nized with the Craig Shute vol­un­teer-ofthe-year award. Here, Verge is shown with (l-r) Kristen, Stephanie and Kelsey, along with last year’s re­cip­i­ent, Michelle Pike.

Ja­son Pen­ney (left) was awarded the Gord Dean schol­ar­ship at the event. Pen­ney is shown with Cee­Bees’ ref­eree-in-chief Dean Whe­lan.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.