Bay Arena mi­nor in­stalls new ex­ec­u­tive

Scott Cros­bie ac­claimed as new pres­i­dent


The Bay Arena Mi­nor Hockey As­so­ci­a­tion will have five new faces on its ex­ec­u­tive for the 2013-14 sea­son.

The five were elected dur­ing the or­ga­ni­za­tion’s an­nual gen­eral meet­ing at the Bay Arena in Bay Roberts on June 17.

Of the five po­si­tions, the big­gest change comes to the pres­i­dent po­si­tion, with Scott Cros­bie tak­ing over the top post. Cros­bie was ac­claimed to the po­si­tion, since he was the only del­e­gate to ac­cept the nom­i­na­tion. Jonathan Reid was also nom­i­nated, but de­clined.

Reid was later voted in as house league di­rec­tor af­ter he de­feated in­cum­bent Gary Dob­bin in a runoff vote.

For­mer pres­i­dent Brian Drover was not nom­i­nated to re­turn, how­ever, he will stay on as a mem­ber of the ex­ec­u­tive as past-pres­i­dent.

Drover has spent the last eight years as a mem­ber of the ex­ec­u­tive — eight years as vice pres­i­dent and the last two as pres­i­dent.

“I loved ev­ery minute of it,” he said. “I found it ful­fill­ing and I learned a lot from the chil­dren.”

Drover said he sup­ports Cros­bie in his role as pres­i­dent and is “happy” with where he left the as­so­ci­a­tion.

Cros­bie said he had been think­ing about throw­ing his hat in the ring for some time.

“The time fit. I have a good re­la­tion­ship with the out­go­ing ex­ec­u­tive and the out-go­ing pres­i­dent as well,” he said. “It was an op­por­tu­nity that fit where I could give back to the kids.”

Cros­bie saw an op­por­tu­nity to build on the good work done in the past.

“In a two-year term, you can’t change ev­ery­thing, but we’ll pick our pri­or­i­ties, fo­cus our ef­forts, get the in­put from the peo­ple, and it’s that kind of com­mu­ni­ca­tion that I in­vite,” he said.

There will also be a new vi­cepres­i­dent along­side Cros­bie, with Jamie Rus­sell get­ting the most votes in a run-off with in­cum­bent Carl Do­hey.

Mean­while, Brenda Cole is the new reg­is­trar. She bested Carolyn Pet­ten af­ter the some 50 peo­ple in at­ten­dance were forced to vote again af­ter the first vote ended in a tie.

Michelle Rus­sell was ap­pointed to the po­si­tion of sched­uler af­ter she beat Adri­enne Elms, while Ka­t­rina Mercer, who finised her term this year, was not nom­i­nated.

Join­ing the new mem­bers of the ex­ec­u­tive will be Nel­son Ben­nett (all-star di­rec­tor), Rhonda Mercer (sec­re­tary), Rox­anne Pet­ten ( fundrais­ing) and Colleen Par­sons (hockey moms pres­i­dent), while Denita Cros­bie moves from her po­si­tion as reg­is­trar and as­sumes the po­si­tion of trea­surer. She and Jeff Car­a­van were nom­i­nated, but Car­a­van de­clined.

The po­si­tion of ref­eree-in-chief is ex­pected to be filled when the new ex­ec­u­tive meets for the first time next month.


Photo by Nicholas Mercer/the Com­pass

The Bay Arena Mi­nor Hockey As­so­ci­a­tion elected sev­eral new ex­ec­u­tive mem­bers at its an­nual gen­eral meet­ing on June 17 at the Bay Arena in Bay Roberts. Shown here are, from left, Denita Cros­bie (trea­surer), Michelle Rus­sell (sched­uler), Brenda Cole (reg­is­trar), Rhonda Mercer (sec­re­tary), Rox­anne Pet­ten (fundrais­ing), Scott Cros­bie (pres­i­dent), Jon­than Reid (house league di­rec­tor) and Jamie Rus­sell (vice-pres­i­dent). Miss­ing from photo are Ian Nor­ris (tech­ni­cal di­rec­tor), Colleen Par­sons (hockey moms pres­i­dent), Brian Drover (past-pres­i­dent) and Nel­son Ben­nett (all-star di­rec­tor).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.