Ernie Mug­ford wins busi­ness award

The Compass - - OPINION -

The plain-spo­ken, colour­ful owner of Moun­tain­View Park Ltd. in Clarke’s Beach is this year’s win­ner of the CBDC Trin­ity Con­cep­tion Busi­ness Dis­tinc­tion Award.

Ernie Mug­ford was pre­sented with the award dur­ing the an­nual gen­eral meet­ing of CBDC Trin­ity Con­cep­tion on Oct. 22.

CBDC Trin­ity Con­cep­tion has been hon­our­ing lo­cal en­trepreneurs with this award since 2007. The award rec­og­nizes con­tri­bu­tions to the econ­omy, job mar­ket and the com­mu­nity at large. Some of the cri­te­ria con­sid­ered by a se­lec­tion com­mit­tee in­cludes op­er­at­ing suc­cess, sales, fu­ture growth and con­tri­bu­tion to lo­cal and pro­vin­cial econ­omy.

Own­ing and op­er­at­ing a park of some sort has been a life­time dream for Mug­ford. He pur­chased a block of land in the town in 1968, and be­gan de­vel­op­ing his dream in 1990.

Af­ter 26 years in the Cana­dian Forces, Mug­ford re­tired in 1993 to work full-time at the park, which has now grown to of­fer 150 fully-ser­viced RV camp­sites.

“Over the years I’ve had many strug­gles from var­i­ous sources,” Mug­ford stated dur­ing the pre­sen­ta­tion cer­e­mony, “but I have over­come them all mainly with the help of strangers, my fam­ily, my campers and the CBDC, who I will be in­debted to for their help for the rest of my life.”

The 2012 win­ner was Aaron Hillier, owner of Hillier’s Garage in Green’s Har­bour, while the 2011 award went to Paul Col­bert, part owner of two phar­ma­cies — Tri-Con Phar­macy in Old Per­li­can and Western Bay Pre­scrip­tion Cen­tre, and for­mer owner of Col­bert’s Re­tire­ment Cen­tre Lim­ited in Old Per­li­can.

CBDC is an acro­nym for Com­mu­nity Busi­ness De­vel­op­ment Cor­po­ra­tion, and there are 15 in this prov­ince. The cor­po­ra­tions pro­mote eco­nomic de­vel­op­ment through busi­ness loans, coun­selling and train­ing. The loans are used to ei­ther start or grow a com­pany in the 72 com­mu­ni­ties served by CBDC Trin­ity Con­cep­tion.

Mean­while, CBDC Trin­ity Con­cep­tion also in­tro­duced a new board ex­ec­u­tive and di­rec­tors. They in­clude the fol­low­ing: An­thony Smith (chair), Ray Tuck (vicechair), Char­lene Strick­land (sec­re­tary), Danielle Doyle (trea­surer), Charles Adams (past-chair), and di­rec­tors Stan Reid, Bar­bara Brown, David Mur­rin and Gary Myr­den.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.