All new com­mit­tee

The Compass - - SPORTS - FROM B4

“It’s a lit­tle bit dif­fer­ent for me go­ing from hockey sticks to tiaras,” she laughed. Other mem­bers of the com­mit­tee in­clude Vic­to­ria Win­sor, Pam Whe­lan, Diane Butt, Carolyn Horwood and Kate­lyn Galway, all from the Car­bon­ear-Har­bour Grace area.

The lo­cal ad­di­tions are a com­plete change from the pre­vi­ous com­mit­tee, who were from the greater St. John’s area.

The new com­mit­tee has al­ready met sev­eral times, although they have only been to­gether a short time. Each per­son has a job to do, said Pen­ney.

Miss New­found­land and Labrador of­ten has a plat­form and is in­volved with many fundrais­ing events over her reign. Brid­gette Ab­bott, Miss New­found­land and Labrador 2014-15, has been a big sup­porter of the Shave for the Brave cam­paign.

For the past few years, con­tes­tants have been asked to raise money for dif­fer­ent char­i­ties, in­clud­ing the Sin­gle Par­ents As­so­ci­a­tion and the Janeway Chil­dren’s Health and Re­ha­bil­i­ta­tion Cen­tre.

This year, the char­ity has not yet been de­cided on, but the min­i­mum re­quire­ment for fundrais­ing was changed from $250 to $500. In 2014, one con­tes­tant raised over $2,100. For more in­for­ma­tion on the Miss New­found­land and Labrador pageant or to ap­ply, visit or email

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.