CeeBees’ mi­nor name 2015-2016 ex­ec­u­tive


CeeBees mi­nor hockey has found the per­son to step in for long­time pres­i­dent Wendy Pen­ney.

That per­son is for­mer ref­eree-in-chief Dean Whe­lan from Har­bour Grace. Whe­lan took over the po­si­tion by ac­cla­ma­tion dur­ing the as­so­ci­a­tion’s an­nual gen­eral meet­ing last Tues­day in Har­bour Grace.

A well-re­spected on-ice of­fi­cial, Whe­lan has spent the last num­ber of years as the head of of­fi­cials for the CeeBees. He’s ref­er­eed count­less mi­nor, ju­nior, ma­jor mid­get and se­nior hockey games dur­ing his ca­reer.

Whe­lan is also an in­struc­tor with the Hockey NL for cer­ti­fy­ing cur­rent and new on-ice of­fi­cials. He is sched­uled to serve the next two years as the as­so­ci­a­tion’s top elected of­fi­cial.

Pen­ney leaves the as­so­ci­a­tion af­ter more than a decade with the CeeBees’ ex­ec­u­tive, serv­ing the past four years as pres­i­dent. She now moves to the po­si­tion of di­rec­tor of the Tri Pen zone for Hockey NL.

Brian Dono­van re­turns for another term as the CeeBees’ vice pres­i­dent. He has been with the as­so­ci­a­tion at the ex­ec­u­tive level for the last num­ber of years.

David Os­bourne was named the CeeBees’ trea­surer dur­ing the meet­ing, while Neil Shute was made the sec­re­tary for the ex­ec­u­tive.

Tak­ing over for Whe­lan as the ref­eree-in-chief will be Jimmy South­well.


Lo­cal ref­eree Dean Whe­lan, seen here han­dling a se­nior hockey game in Har­bour Grace, is the new pres­i­dent of the CeeBees Mi­nor Hockey.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.