List of Calder Cup win­ners from NL keeps grow­ing

The Compass - - Sports -

Daniel Cleary is the ninth per­son from New­found­land and Labrador to play a part in a Calder Cup win and Amer­i­can Hockey League cham­pi­onship.

He’s also the third do it in as many years, fol­low­ing Lake Erie Mon­sters video coach Dar­ryl Se­ward of Lewis­porte in 2016 and cen­tre Zach O’Brien of St. John’s in 2015 while skat­ing for the Manch­ester Monar­chs.

The three join Brian Gibbons of St. John’s (1970-71 Spring­field Kings), Don Howse of Grand Falls (1975-76 and 1976-77 Nova Sco­tia Voyageurs), Ja­son Mor­gan of C.B.S. (2000-01 Saint John Flames), John Slaney of St. John’s (2004-05 Philadel­phia Phan­toms) and Colin Green­ing of St. John’s (2010-11 Bing­ham­ton Sen­a­tors), who all won as play­ers, and Glenn Stan­ford of St. John’s, who was pres­i­dent of the Hamilton Bull­dogs when that team won it all in 2007.

Cleary wants to bring the Calder Cup back to New­found­land some­time this sum­mer, but laugh­ingly cited a po­ten­tial prob­lem.

“The tra­di­tion is that the guys drive it to each other in kind of like a re­lay and I don’t know if any­one is go­ing to drive it to New­found­land,” he said. “There are no other east coast­ers on the team.

“But I’m go­ing to try to get it home for my hockey school.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.