Astros cruise to Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial win

Op­po­nents fail to de­feat host Bay Roberts school in five-team tour­na­ment

The Compass - - Front page - Ed­i­tor@cb­n­com­

For the third year in a row and 16th time in 27 tries, the As­cen­sion Astros male hockey team won the Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial Tour­na­ment

The de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons at the Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial Tour­na­ment were on fire play­ing on home ice.

The As­cen­sion Astros male hockey team con­vinc­ingly de­feated the Mount Pearl Se­nior Huskies 4-1 last Tues­day night at Bay Arena, giv­ing the home team its third-straight tour­na­ment ti­tle and 16th in 27 years.

Goal­tender Ri­ley Pet­ten claimed the Al­bert R. Spencer Award as the tour­na­ment MVP, al­low­ing four goals in three starts for the Astros. Corey Par­sons notched a goal and an as­sist for As­cen­sion in the cham­pi­onship game, with David Hibbs, Alex Franey and Tyler Do­hey also scor­ing for the home team. Team cap­tain Ma­son Oates was named player of the game for the cham­pi­onship match.

The Astros started off with a 1-1 tie fac­ing the Huskies. Luke Ak­er­man was the lone scorer for the Astros. In their next game against the Holy Spirit Fal­cons, Kyle Tet­ford scored twice and added an as­sist in a 5-1 win. Eric Ardis, Darcy Dawe and Ak­er­man also scored, with Aaron Os­borne earn­ing the vic­tory in net.

Ad­vanc­ing to the semi­fi­nals, the Astros de­feated the O’Donel Pa­tri­ots 5-2. Dawson Laudry scored twice, with sin­gle mark­ers com­ing from Brady Oates, Hibbs and Par­sons.

Tet­ford, an as­sis­tant cap­tain with the team, re­ceived the Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial Award, given to a Level 3 stu­dent who demon­strates lead­er­ship, ded­i­ca­tion and sports­man­ship.

Car­bon­ear Col­le­giate notched a win and two losses at the tour­na­ment to fin­ish in fifth place. After suf­fer­ing a tough 9-1 loss to O’Donel in their open­ing game, the Sen­tinels bounced back with a strong ef­fort, de­feat­ing the same team 4-3. Reilly Meadus and Ma­son Moores scored a pair each in that game. The Sen­tinels fin­ished the tour­na­ment los­ing a close one to Holy Spirit by a score of 2-1.


The As­cen­sion Astros boys hockey team claimed its third-straight Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial ti­tle Tues­day night in Bay Roberts. Front (l-r): Ri­ley Pet­ten, Ma­son Oates, Kyle Tet­ford, Bryce Hier­lihy, Matthew Ak­er­man, Lu­cas Rus­sell, Luke Ak­er­man. Mid­dle (l-r):...


Team cap­tains pose with the Wes­ley Gosse Me­mo­rial Tour­na­ment plaque. Start­ing from the left, Matthew Breaker, Ma­son Oates, Kyle Tet­ford and Matthew Ak­er­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.