Loyalist history showcased
Established as a Centennial project in 1967, the Nor’Westers and Loyalist Museum in Williamstown provides a fascinating conduit to the past, highlighting an often overlooked facet of Glengarry history – its ties to the fur trade.
A Georgian-style structure originally constructed in 1862 as a school, it not only houses displays and information chronicling the story of Sir John Johnson and his United Empire Loyalist followers, who settled in the region during the American Revolution, but artifacts and documents pertaining to the history of the Nor’Westers (or North West) Company as well.
A group of brave and hearty men, the Nor’Westers dominated the fur trade in Canada between the time of their establishment in 1779 and 1821 – when they merged with the rival Hudson’s Bay Company.
Its members – including such key figures as Duncan Cameron, Hugh McGillis, John McGillivray and David Thompson – explored and opened up much of western Canada and the U.S., braving the wilderness from the St. Lawrence River to the Pacific Ocean, from the Arctic to the Mississippi River; but for many years, called Glengarry home.
Some young people tour the Nor’Westers and Loyalist Museum