GLEN NEVIS / NORTH LANCASTER
Glen Nevis is a tiny hamlet on the banks of the Beaudette River nestled among the rolling hills of South Glengarry where the 3rd Line Road meets the 7th Concession. In the 1870s the village, settled by Highland Scots, boasted a store, post office, cheese factory, sawmill, dressmaker and an elementary school to serve the local farm community.
What endures is the stately St. Margaret of Scotland Roman Catholic Church which was blessed on June 17, 1882 by the Most Rev. James Cleary, Bishop of Kingston.
Just west of Glen Nevis on the 5th Concession at the 2nd Line Road is the village of North Lancaster. In 1845 the village received its name.
Enterprising pioneer Charles LeClair purchased Lot 24 at Concession 6 and in subsequent years established a farm, a store, an ashery, a hotel, tenants’ housing and more farms.
The historic LeClair house is located at the north edge of the village.