The Hamilton Spectator - - SPORTING LIFE -

1914 New York Giants and Chicago White Sox play an ex­hi­bi­tion base­ball game in Egypt. 1959 Zack Wheat unan­i­mously elected to the Base­ball Hall of Fame. 1968 Vince Lom­bardi re­signs as coach of Green Bay Pack­ers. 1970 Ford Frick, Earle Combs and Jesse Haines elected to the Base­ball Hall of Fame. 1972 1972 NFL Draft: Walt Patul­ski from Univer­sity of Notre Dame first pick by Buf­falo Bills. 1973 Monte Irvin elected to the Base­ball Hall of Fame. 1984 Daniel Stern be­comes NBA com­mis­sioner. 1992 Barry Bonds signs base­ball’s high­est sin­gle-year con­tract of $4.7 mil­lion. 1992 De­nis Potvin’s No. 5 be­comes 1st num­ber re­tired by the New York Is­lan­ders. 1998 86th Men’s Aus­tralian Open: Petr Korda beats Marcelo Rios (6-2, 6-2, 6-2). 1998 86th Women’s Aus­tralian Open: Martina Hingis beats Con­chita Martinez (6-3, 6-3). 2004 Wardrobe mal­func­tion: Janet Jack­son’s breast is ex­posed dur­ing the half­time show of Su­per Bowl XXXVIII, re­sult­ing in U.S. broad­cast­ers adopt­ing a stronger ad­her­ence to FCC cen­sor­ship guide­lines. 2004 Su­per Bowl XXXVIII: New Eng­land Pa­tri­ots beat Carolina Pan­thers, 32-29 at the Reliant Sta­dium. MVP: Tom Brady, New Eng­land, QB. 2004 92nd Men’s Aus­tralian Open: Roger Fed­erer beats Marat Safin (7-6, 6-4, 6-2). 2004 92nd Women’s Aus­tralian Open: Jus­tine Henin-Har­denne beats Kim Cli­jsters (6-3, 4-6, 6-3). 2014 Ray Guy be­comes the first pure NFL punter to be in­ducted in the Pro Foot­ball Hall of Fame. 2015 Su­per Bowl XLIX: New Eng­land Pa­tri­ots de­feat the Seat­tle Sea­hawks 28-24 at the Univer­sity of Phoenix Sta­dium in Glen­dale, Ariz. MVP: Tom Brady who be­comes only the 3rd quar­ter­back to win 4 Su­per­bowls. 2015 103rd Men’s Aus­tralian Open: No­vak Djokovic beats Andy Mur­ray (7-6, 6-7, 6-3, 6-0).

Janet Jack­son cov­ers her breast as Justin Tim­ber­lake holds part of her cos­tume af­ter her out­fit came un­done dur­ing the half­time show of Su­per Bowl XXXVIII in Hous­ton, over­shad­ow­ing a thrilling win by the New Eng­land Pa­tri­ots, 13 years ago to­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.