Giller fi­nal­ist Gary Bar­win makes short list for Lea­cock Medal for Hu­mour

The Hamilton Spectator - - A&E -

ORILLIA, ONT. — Gary Bar­win has made the short list for the Stephen Lea­cock Memo­rial Medal for Hu­mour.

The Hamil­ton-based au­thor was rec­og­nized for “Yid­dish for Pi­rates,” which was a fi­nal­ist for the Gov­er­nor Gen­eral’s Lit­er­ary Award for Fic­tion and the Sco­tia­bank Giller Prize last year.

Hal­i­fax-born, Thun­der Bay, Ont.-based Amy Jones made the short list for her de­but novel “We’re All in This To­gether.”

Ojib­way play­wright, au­thor and hu­morist Drew Hay­den Tay­lor from the Curve Lake First Na­tions in cen­tral On­tario was hon­oured for “Take Us to Your Chief And Other Sto­ries.”

The Lea­cock Medal is awarded an­nu­ally for the best book in Cana­dian lit­er­ary hu­mour, and is ac­com­pa­nied by a $15,000 prize from TD Bank Fi­nan­cial Group. The run­ners-up will each re­ceive $3,000.

The win­ner will be an­nounced on June 10 at a gala held at Geneva Park Con­fer­ence Cen­tre just out­side of Orillia, Ont.

Gary Bar­win

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.