New brooms?

The McLeod River Post - - Front Page - Ian McInnes The McLeod River Post

There are two new May­ors in our re­gion. Mar­cel Michaels in Hin­ton (left) and Kevin Za­hara in Ed­son (right). There will be an­other in Lac Ste. Anne County fol­low­ing in­cum­bent Mayor Bill Hegy’s de­feat.

The 2017 Al­berta mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions are over. Can­di­dates worked hard to get elected and there were vic­to­ries and de­feats. It would be nice how­ever, if more of the elec­torate turned out to vote. That’s a topic for an­other day though. In the mean­time, here’s a run down of our new coun­cils start­ing with the towns. Re­sults were of­fi­cial as at noon on Oc­to­ber 20.

In Jasper, Richard Ire­land is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are: Paul But­ler, Rico Damota, Al­bert Jour­nault, He­len Kelle­her-Em­pey, Jenna McGrath and Scott Archibald Wil­son.

In Grande Cache, Herb Cas­tle is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are: Duane Ed­ward Di­dow, Tyler Olsen, Yvonne Rem­pel, Jim Sa­vory, Rob Sta­ples and Jo­hannes Zwart.

In Hin­ton, Mar­cel Michaels is the new Mayor, coun­cil­lors are: Trevor Haas, Ryan Maguhn, Dewly Nel­son, Al­berta Os­tashek, JoAnn Race and Tyler Waugh.

In Ed­son, Kevin Za­hara is the new Mayor, coun­cil­lors are: Krys­tal Baier, Trevor Be­van, Gean Chouinard, Jac­qui Cur­rie, Troy Soren­son and Janet Wilkin­son. The Town of Ed­son re­ported that there were a to­tal of 1,897 votes cast out of 6,518 el­i­gi­ble vot­ers for a 29 per cent voter turnout.

In White­court, Maryann Chichak is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are: Bill McAree, Ray Hilts, Tom Pickard, Derek Schlosser and Paul Chau­vet. The Town of White­court re­ported that voter turnout for the 2017 Mu­nic­i­pal Elec­tion was 31 per cent.

In May­erthorpe, the en­tire coun­cil was ac­claimed. Kate Pa­trick is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are Jonathon Arse­neault, Pat Burns, Pa­trick Hag­man, Janet Jabush, Bernie Jo­gola and San­dra Mor­ton. Mov­ing on to the coun­ties. In Yel­low­head County, Ger­ald Soroka is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are: San­dra Ch­er­ni­awsky, Antony Giezen, Penny Lowe, David Rus­sell, Shawn Berry, Wade P. Wil­liams, Dawn Mitchell and Lavone Ol­son.

In Wood­lands County, coun­cil elects the mayor, coun­cil­lors are: Sylvia Bon­nett, John Bur­rows, Ron Goven­lock, Jim Ren­nie, Bruce Prestidge, Dale McQueen and Dale Kluin.

In Lac Ste. Anne County, coun­cil will de­cide upon a new mayor, coun­cil­lors are: Lorne Olsvik, Nick Ge­lych, Ge­orge Vaughan, Steve Hoyda, Joe Blake­man, Ross Bohnet and Lloyd Giebel­haus.

In Park­land County, Rod Shaigec is the Mayor again, coun­cil­lors are: An­nLisa Jensen, Jackie McCuaig, Phyl­lis Koba­siuk, Dar­rell Hol­lands, John Alexan­der McNab and Tracey Mel­nyk.

The school di­vi­sion trustee re­sults can be found on our ed­u­ca­tion page. We can now sit back for a while be­fore Al­berta goes to the polls again for the pro­vin­cial elec­tions around May 2019.

File pho­tos The McLeod River Post

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.