Elec­tion time

Learn who the can­di­dates are in the up­com­ing mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion in Lewisporte.

The Pilot - - Front Page - BY PA­TRICK MUR­PHY Pa­trick.Mur­phy@ad­ver­tis­ernl.ca

The Town of Lewisporte has re­leased the list of can­di­dates in this year’s mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion.

In all nine can­di­dates are vy­ing for the six avail­able coun­cil seats.

The new­com­ers to the race are: Stephen Hol­lett Krista Freake

Brian Hooper

Jeff Manuel

Perry Pond

Derek White

Calvin Smart

Two cur­rent Lewisporte coun­cil­lors are look­ing to make a re­turn to the coun­cil cham­bers: Ken­neth Tucker Lester Wat­ton No­tice­ably ab­sent from this years bal­lot are peren­nial can­di­dates Jim Snow, who spent over 20 years on coun­cil, and Ed­ward Vatcher, an­other long-serv­ing mem­ber for the com­mu­nity. Coun. Derek Snow is also ab- sent from this year’s bal­lot.

Out­go­ing Mayor Brian Sce­viour, who won the 2013 elec­tion un­con­tested, is also ab­sent from this year’s bal­lot. Sce­viour had in­di­cated in an ear­lier in­ter­view with The Pilot he had not yet de­cided whether to take on the role mov­ing into the fu­ture. With the re­lease of the of­fi­cial list of can­di­dates, Sce­viour’s de­par­ture from mu­nic­i­pal pol­i­tics is now de­cided.

Res­i­dents of Lewisporte will get to de­cide the vic­tor of this year’s may­oral race. Cur­rent Deputy Mayor John Mul­let is look­ing to take over the mayor’s chair but will have to face former Lewisporte mayor Betty Clarke on the bal­lot.

The Pilot will be reach­ing out to all can­di­dates in this year’s elec­tion in an ef­fort to pro­vide read­ers with a synop­sis of the can­di­dates. The Pilot will pro­vide up­dates as more in­for­ma­tion be­comes avail­able.


Vot­ers in Lewisporte will have nine coun­cil can­di­dates to choose from in this year’s mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion while Betty Clarke will face John Mul­let for the mayor’s chair.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.