3 karters race to first vic­to­ries

The Standard (St. Catharines) - - SPORTS -

Joey Pri­est­ley didn’t win the first cham­pi­onship of his kart­ing ca­reer, he dom­i­nated his rac­ing divi­sion by go­ing un­de­feated.

Pri­est­ley fin­ished nowhere but first place in 10 fea­tures in the Ju­nior 2 divi­sion com­pet­ing around the inside dirt track at Mer­rittville Speed­way this sea­son.

An­other first-time cham­pion, Nigel Pendykoskis in the Ju­nior 1 class, also ended the kart­ing sched­ule at the Thorold track on a win­ning note. His check­ered flag in Wed­nes­day night’s fea­ture was his fifth of the year.

Jae­don Law­son’s last-place fin­ish in the Ju­nior Re­stricted didn’t pre­vent him from be­com­ing the third first-time cham­pion in Mer­rittville kart­ing this sea­son.

Set­ting the pace in the Ju­nior Re­strict fea­ture was Noah Mamo, who won for the fourth time this year.

Travis Ma­juery de­fended his Se­nior An­i­mal track ti­tle rac­ing to win No. 6 of the sea­son.

Round­ing out Wed­nes­day night’s win­ners cir­cle were Austin Nigh, who took his sec­ond check­ered flag of the sea­son in Novice 2, and Mike Evans, a first-time win­ner in the Se­nior Fun class.

Karters in Novice 2 and Se­nior Fun do not com­pete for points.

Fol­low­ing are re­sults and heat win­ners from 2017 kart­ing sea­son fi­nale:

De­signed Wright St. Catharines Dis­count Auto Parts Wilder Rac­ing Engines Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing LO206 Novice 1 and 2 Divi­sion, eight laps: Austin Nigh, Ben Colavec­chia, Wayne Swin­son, Chris Crowe, Scar­lett Gaboury, Gavin Lavallee. Heat win­ners: Nigh, Crowe.

RCM Rac­ing Equip­ment Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing LO206 Ju­nior 1 Divi­sion, 15 laps: Nigel Pendykoski, Hana Roth­wel, Jack­son May­tum, Lo­gan Iliffe, Co­hen Corbett, Kor­win Pod­win­ski, Trevor Evans, Am­ber White, Made­lyn Gould­ing, Ai­den Lavallee. Heat win­ners: Iliffe, Jack­son, Corbett, Pendykoski. Quick Ink Cus­tom Screen Print­ing Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing LO206 Ju­nior 2 Divi­sion, 15 laps: Joey Pri­est­ley, Spencer May­tum, Owen Kaiser, Zach Trot­ter. Heat win­ner: Pri­est­ley, both heats.

Su­pe­rior Petro Fuels Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing LO206 Ju­nior Re­stricted Divi­sion, 15 laps: Noah Mamo, Devin Ray­ment, Davis Gro­cott, Jae­don Law­son. Heat win­ner: Law­son.

Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing Se­nior Fun Divi­sion, 20 laps: Mike Evans, Ed Crozier, Shawn Jef­frey, Lenny Wi­ley, Mike Speck, Doug Nigh, Ron McGarry, Matt Sharpe, Tom Neale. Heat win­ners: Crozier, Jef­frey.

South­ern On­tario Mod­i­fied Lite Rac­ing As­so­ci­a­tion Per­for­mance Man­u­fac­tur­ing Se­nior An­i­mal Divi­sion, 20 laps: Travis Ma­juery, Dy­lan Culp, Gary Over­holt, Kath­leen Lamp­man. Heat win­ners: Over­holt, Ma­juery.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.