Doyle MVP of the sea­son, but couldn’t stop La­fontaine steam­roller

The Telegram (St. John’s) - - SPORTS - sports@thetele­

His team lost out in the league fi­nal, but Johnny Doyle of Bay Roberts Coors Light has been named the he 2017 Mol­son St. John’s in­ter­me­di­ate fast­pitch most valu­able player.

Bay Roberts was swept by de­fend­ing cham­pion La­fontaine Club of Pla­cen­tia in a best-of-fi­nal that con­cluded Tues­day night at Li­ons Park, but Doyle got the MVP nod with his two-way show­ing over the reg­u­lar sea­son, post­ing a 9-2 record, 2.30 earne­drun av­er­age and 111 strike­outs as a pitcher, and fash­ion­ing a .450 av­er­age at the plate.

Other year-end award­win­ners an­nounced Wed­nes­day in­cluded Pa­trick O’leary of Con­cep­tion Bay Cen­tral (come­back player of the year), Ja­cob Gill of C.B.S. (rookie of the year), Steven Dob­bin of Water­ford Val­ley’s Game on Gear (Gold Glove/de­fen­sive player of the year) and Matt Power of Roe­bothan Mckay Mar­shall Repub­lic (sports­man­ship and abil­ity).

Chris Thorne of RMM led all bat­ters with a .528 av­er­age; O’leary topped the league with 21 RBIS and tied Troy Leonard of La­fontaine with five home runs; Eric Healey of C.B.C. was first in strike­outs with 114 ;and Johnny Doyle of La­fontaine had the low­est ERA, a minis­cule 0.89 over 47 in­nings.

Leonard (catcher), Doyle (pitcher), O’leary (in­field), Dob­bin (in­field) and Thorne (util­ity), were joined on the league all-star team by in­field­ers Peter Ka­vanagh of Bay Roberts and Mike Gre­gory of C.B.S., along with out­field­ers Shel­don Keefe of La­fontaine, Jor­dan Pomeroy of the Chayee Bour­ras NL Se­lects and An­drew Kelly of Game on Gear.

O’reilly was named MVP of the play­offs that saw La­fontaine go 7-0 in win­ning its fourth straight ti­tle. He pitched the win in Tues­day’s clincher, a game that saw La­fontaine down Bay Roberts 15-6, with Leonard driv­ing in four runs for the win­ners.

Rylee Costello of Bay Roberts (.474 av­er­age) was top bat­ter in the play­offs.

Mem­bers of the cham­pi­onship team in­clude Joey Evely, Brent Hat­field, Trevor Hef­feran, Keefe, Michael Leonard-power, Leonard, Paul Ma­her, Brit­tany Mccarthy, Colby Mur­phy, Johnny O’reilly, Matthew O’reilly, Nick Pittman, Rus­sell Wood­man and coach Steven Pittman.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.