Travel Guide to Canada - - Time Zones -

Canada stretches over six time zones all of which are be­hind Co­or­di­nated Uni­ver­sal Time (UTC). Time zones stated are uni­ver­sal through­out North Amer­ica:

Sec­tions of North­west Ter­ri­to­ries (NT) and Nu­navut (NU) re­late to provin­cial time zones ge­o­graph­i­cally to the south. Labrador uses At­lantic Stan­dard Time ex­cept for a small south­east area which is on New­found­land and Labrador Stan­dard Time.

The 24-hour clock is used on air, train and bus sched­ules. Day­light sav­ing time is in ef­fect from the sec­ond Sun­day in March, when the clock is put for­ward one hour, to the first Sun­day in Novem­ber. Saskatchewan, the east­ern reaches of Québec’s north shore, Nu­navut’s Southamp­ton Is­land/Co­ral Har­bour, some east­ern sec­tions of Bri­tish Co­lum­bia near the Al­berta bor­der, and a few re­mote ar­eas in northwestern On­tario do not use day­light sav­ing time.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.