43 awards for the best wines of Cyprus

Financial Mirror (Cyprus) - - FRONT PAGE -

Three of the is­land’s old­est winer­ies won the Grand Gold medal for their own ver­sion of the tra­di­tional Com­man­daria dur­ing the 8th Cyprus Wine Com­pe­ti­tion, pre­sented in Li­mas­sol by Agri­cul­ture Min­is­ter Ni­cos Kouyialis and the town’s mayor, An­dreas Chris­tou.

In all, 43 awards were handed out – three Grand Gold medals, 15 Gold and 25 Sil­ver.

The Grand Gold medals went to St. John Com­man­daria 1984 (Keo Mal­lia Win­ery), St. Ni­cholas - Cen­tu­rion Com­man­daria 2000 (ETKO) and Ala­sia 2004 LOEL.

Sev­eral more Com­man­daria sweet wines won the Gold, to­gether with other ex­cel­lent wines: Com­man­daria 2008 (Tsi­akkas), Com­man­daria 2005 (Kyper­ounda Win­ery), Kalamos Com­man­daria 2009 (Ni­cholas Ig­na­tiou & Sons), Saint John (Keo Mal­lia Win­ery), Com­man­daria White Sweet Xynis­teri 2007 (G. Athen­odorou & Sons), Saint Barn­abas White Sweet Xynis­teri 2005 (So­dap Ca­man­der­ena), Metharmi Red Dry Maratheftiko 2009 (Ezousa), St. Ni­cholas Com­man­daria 2010 (Etko), Mosx­atos White Sweet 2012 (Ayia Mavri), Vlas­sides Cab. Sauv. Red Dry 2012 (Vlas­sides Win­ery), Ayios Chrysos­to­mos White Dry Xynis­teri 2014 (Ezousa), Epos - Chardon­nay 2013 (Kyper­ounda), Con­stanti­nou - Shi­raz Red Dry 2012 (C.G. Con­stanti­nou Dis­tillery), Yerole­mos - Maratheftiko Rose Dry 2014 (G. Athen­odorou & Sons), Ko­lios - Shi­raz Red Dry 2008 (Ko­lios Win­ery) and Con­stantino Cab Sauv. Red Dry 2010 (Costas Eri­moudes).

The Sil­ver awards went to: Ayiok­lima Xynis­teri White Dry (2014 C.G. Con­stanti­nou Dis­tillery), Epos - Shi­raz/Caber­net Sauv. 2012 (Kyper­ounda), Con­stanti­nou - Cab. Sauv. 2010 (C.G. Con­stanti­nou Dis­tillery), Cab. Sauv. 2011 (Kyper­ounda Win­ery), Vam­vakada Red Dry Maratheftiko 2012 (Tsi­akkas Win­ery), Xynis­teri White Dry 2014 (Tsi­akkas Win­ery), Maratheftiko Red Dry 2011 (Makkas Win­ery), Ar­gyrides Maratheftiko Red Dry 2012 (R & A Vasa Win­ery), Eros Red Dry Maratheftiko 2014 (Ezousa Es­tate), Mosx­atos White Sweet 2011 (Ayia Mavri), Vla­sides White Dry 2014 (Vla­sides Win­ery), Ca­man­der­ena Le­fkada Rose Dry 2014 (So­dap), Zam­bar­tas - Le­fkada/Shi­raz Red Dry 2013 (Zam­bar­tas Winer­ies), Petri­tis White Dry Xynis­teri 2013 (Kyper­ounda), Yerole­mos Xynis­teri Semi Sweet White 2014 (G. Athen­odorou & Sons), Perse­foni White Semi Sweet Xynis­teri 2014 (Ko­lios Win­ery), Me­lap­sopodi White Dry Sau­vi­gnon 2014 (Tsala­p­atis Wines Co.), Vardalis - Shi­raz Red Dry 2013 (Vardalis Ki­lani Win­ery), Alina White Dry Xynis­teri 2014 (Vouni Panayias Win­ery), Barba Yiannis Red Dry Maratheftiko 2012 (Vouni Panayias Win­ery), Zam­bar­tas - Marathe­friko Red Dry 2013 (Zam­bar­tas Winer­ies), Epos - Chardon­nay White Dry 2014 (Kyper­ounda), Chardon­nay White Dry 2014 (Kyper­ounda), Ca­man­ter­ena Xynis­teri White Dry 2014 (So­dap).

A Spe­cial Award for Com­man­daria went to St. John Red Sweet 1984 (Keo Mal­lia Win­ery), a Spe­cial Award for Maratheftiko to Metharmi Red Dry 2009 (Ezousa Es­tate), and a Spe­cial Award fro Xynis­teri to Ayios Chrysos­to­mos White Dry 2014 (Ezousa Es­tate).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Cyprus

© PressReader. All rights reserved.