2017 DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship


Jon Rahm has been crowned the cham­pion at the 2017 DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship, Dubai, the cul­mi­na­tion of the Race to Dubai and part of the in­au­gu­ral Rolex Se­ries at the Jumeirah Golf Es­tates Earth Course.

This vic­tory marks the third win of the 23-year-old’s pro­fes­sional ca­reer, in­clud­ing the Dubai Duty Free Ir­ish Open in June 2017, which is also a Rolex Se­ries event. Mov­ing to

num­ber four in the Of­fi­cial World Golf Rank­ings, the Spa­niard com­menced his fi­nal round in sec­ond place, cour­tesy of rounds of 69, 68 and 65; adding a fourth round in the 60s (67) to take his tally for the tour­na­ment to a win­ning 19-un­der-par.

The win also caps a week in which Rahm was awarded the Sir Henry Cot­ton Rookie of the Year at the start of the week, fol­low­ing in the foot­steps of fel­low Rolex Tes­ti­monees José María Olazábal (1986), Colin Mont­gomerie (1988), Thomas Bjørn (1996), Paul Casey (2001), Martin Kaymer (2007) and Brooks Koepka (2014).

When asked how it feels to be the DP World Tour Cham­pion, Jon Rahm, said, “It’s a very spe­cial feel­ing. What I’ve done this year, es­pe­cially on the Euro­pean Tour, to ac­tu­ally be a Rolex Se­ries cham­pion, and now two-time

Rolex Se­ries cham­pion and win­ner of the DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship - it’s some­thing un­be­liev­able.”

In join­ing fel­low Rolex Tes­ti­monee Matthew Fitz­patrick as a win­ner of the DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship, Rahm has also en­hanced his cam­paign to be part of the 2018 Euro­pean Ry­der Cup Team, tak­ing place in Paris at Le Golf Na­tional in Septem­ber 2018 and cap­tained by Rolex Tes­ti­monee Thomas Bjorn.

Jon Rahm with the tro­phy of The DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship, Dubai the fi­nal Rolex se­ries event of the year

Jon Rahm ap­proach­ing the green on hole 18

Flags of the Rolex se­ries, the DP World Tour Cham­pi­onship and the race to Dubai

Jon Rahm tee­ing off on Day 2

Ni­co­las Col­saerts tee­ing off on the 14th on Day 2

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Hong Kong

© PressReader. All rights reserved.