Es­teem Cup (EC)

Car India - - SPORT -

Race One

The last round of the Es­teem Cup saw Raghul Ran­gasamy from Ma­ha­balipu­ram (Per­for­mance Rac­ing) set the fastest time of 1:59.041 in qual­i­fy­ing, fol­lowed by Naren­dran Sankaran of Chen­nai (Rad Rac­ing). Once the race be­gan, it was Naren­dran who took the lead with Raghul un­for­tu­nately drop­ping down the field. As the cars crossed the chequered flag it was Naren­dran Sankaran who took the win, fol­lowed by Anant Pithawalla from Mum­bai (Team N1) and Vinod S from Erode (Team N1) tak­ing the fi­nal podium place.

Race Two

The next race on the fol­low­ing day saw Anant Pithawalla take the win with just less than three sec­onds sep­a­rat­ing him and se­cond-placed Naren­dran Sankaran who had set the fastest lap and was the only car to run a lap in less than two min­utes. Third spot went to Charen Chandran from Coim­bat­ore (Red Rooster Per­for­mance), who fin­ished 18 sec­onds be­hind Naren­dran.

Race Three

The fi­nal round of the Es­teem Cup sea­son saw Naren­dran come back with the win fol­low­ing his se­cond place in the race be­fore. Raghul Ran­gasamy took the run­ner-up spot, fin­ish­ing over a se­cond be­hind Naren­dran, and in turn fin­ish­ing just less than 20 sec­onds ahead of third-placed Charen Chandran who was bat­tling with Anant Pitawalla. The lat­ter was an­nounced as the win­ner of the na­tional cham­pi­onship.

( Above) A race win and podium was enough for Anant Pithawalla to win the EC crown

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.