BJP fields 11 can­di­dates against 10 RS seats, forces polls Easy win ahead for 3 TMC sup­port Thank Modi, Shah for in bag, Singhvi Raj BJP can­di­dates files pa­pers op­por­tu­nity: Prasad

DNA (Daily News & Analysis) Mumbai Edition - - FRONT PAGE -

on the last day of fil­ing nom­i­na­tion on Mon­day will en­sure hec­tic po­lit­i­cal ac­tiv­i­ties re­lated to horse-trad­ing, ex­change of money-bags and floor-cross­ing in the next ten days to wrest the BSP seat.

Party sources claim that Sonkar and Bish­noi are dummy can­di­dates and they may with­draw on March 15, the last date of with­drawal by can­di­dates. Anil Agar­wal will, how­ever, re­main in fray as its ninth can­di­date.

Af­ter en­sur­ing vic­tory of its eight can­di­dates, the BJP with 324 members in UP Assem­bly along with its al­lies still has 28 ex­tra votes for Anil Agar­wal. In ad­di­tion, the party also has sup­port of three in­de­pen­dents, in­clud­ing Raghu­raj Pratap Singh, alias Raja Bhaiya.

It will re­quire six more votes to make its ninth can­di­date sail through. With ace ma­nip­u­la­tor Naresh Agar­wal on its side, the next ten days in Luc­know may wit­ness hec­tic po­lit­i­cal ma­neu­ver­ings and ex­change of money-bags in five star ho­tels in the state cap­i­tal. Horse-trad­ing and floor-cross­ing is not un­com­mon and the state has wit­nessed them dur­ing Ra­jya Sabha polls in the past.

Three BJP can­di­dates from Ra­jasthan filed their nom­i­na­tions for Ra­jya Sabha seats on Mon­day. There was ex­cite­ment in the air as the num­bers in the kitty of the rul­ing party as­sure them of an easy win.

The first to file his nom­i­na­tion was na­tional gen­eral sec­re­tary Bhu­pen­dra Ya­dav, fol­lowed by Madan Lal Saini and Kirodi­lal Meena. Chief min­is­ter Va­sund­hara Raje was present when the three filed their nom­i­na­tions.

Ya­dav’s nom­i­na­tion was pro­posed by Arun Chaturvedi, Prab­hu­lal Saini, Push­pen­dra Singh, Madan Rathore and Golma Devi, among oth­ers. Chief min­is­ter Raje was also present.

Saini filed his nom­i­na­tion with Kalicha­ran Saraf, Vas-

udev Dev­nani, Ga­jen­dra Singh, Ashok Par­nami and Kamini Jin­dal, among oth­ers. Saini went to meet the chief min­is­ter at her of­fi­cial res­i­dence in the morn­ing be­fore fil­ing the nom­i­na­tion.

Se­nior Congress leader and party Ra­jya Sabha can­di­date from West Ben­gal, Ab­hishek Manu Singhvi filed his nom­i­na­tion on Mon­day, but nei­ther the state Congress pres­i­dent Ad­hir Chowd­hury nor the leader of Op­po­si­tion at the state Assem­bly Ab­dul Man­nan was with him dur­ing the fil­ing of nom­i­na­tion or the press con­fer­ence that fol­lowed.

In­ter­act­ing with me­dia per­sons along with se­nior state Congress leader and Ra­jya Sabha MP Pradeep Bhat­tacharya, he said the im­me­di­ate is­sue was to deal with the di­vi­sive poli­cies of the BJP and to do that it should be en­sured that anti-BJP votes were not di­vided. Singhvi had been nom­i­nated and as­sured sup­port of TMC.

Congress has been fight­ing tooth and nail, along with CPI(M) against the rul­ing TMC. —Ar­shad Ali

Union Law and Jus­tice and IT Min­is­ter Ravi Shankar Prasad was among the six politi­cians, who filed their nom­i­na­tion for elec­tion to as many Ra­jya Sabha seats from Bi­har on Mon­day.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nom­i­nee Prasad was ac­com­pa­nied by Bi­har Chief Min­is­ter Ni­tish Ku­mar, his deputy Sushil Ku­mar Modi, state BJP Pres­i­dent Nityanand Rai and a host of other state min­is­ters and NDA lead­ers. Prasad, whose cur­rent Ra­jya Sabha term is end­ing in April, ex­pressed grat­i­tude to Prime Min­is­ter Naren­dra Modi and BJP Pres­i­dent Amit Shah “for giv­ing me this op­por­tu­nity to serve the peo­ple once again”.

From the NDA camp, ally Janata Dal (United) has also nom­i­nated two can­di­dates — state JD (U) pres­i­dent and sit­ting Ra­jya Sabha MP Bashistha Narain Singh and se­nior leader Mahendra Prasad, both of whom filed their can­di­da­ture pa­pers along with BJP’s Prasad.

As both al­liances have fielded three can­di­dates each for the six-seats, polling is un­likely. Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) lead­ers Manoj Jha and Ash­faq Karim, whose names were de­clared by Bi­har’s Leader of the Op­po­si­tion Te­jashwi Ya­dav on Sun­day even­ing, also threw their hat in the ring on Mon­day, the last day for fil­ing the nom­i­na­tion.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.