Spl sta­tus: Andhra ob­serves shut­down

DNA (Delhi) - - INDIA -

Amar­a­vati (AP): A statewide bandh called by a peo­ple’s fo­rum for grant­ing spe­cial cat­e­gory sta­tus (SCS) to Andhra Pradesh passed off peace­fully on Mon­day.

The rul­ing Tel­ugu De­sam Party (TDP), though sup­port­ing the cause, de­cided to stay away from the ag­i­ta­tion.

No un­to­ward in­ci­dents, ex­cept burn­ing of a mo­tor­bike in Tiru­pati, were re­ported dur­ing the bandh called by the Andhra Pradesh Pratyeka Hoda Saad­hana Samiti.

The strike has been sup­ported by all op­po­si­tion par­ties, in­clud­ing the YSR Congress (YSRC) and Congress.

Chief Min­is­ter N Chan­drababu Naidu, who re­viewed the sit­u­a­tion with top po­lice of­fi­cers, di­rected them to en­sure that peace pre­vailed in the state.

Ed­u­ca­tional in­sti­tu­tions re­mained shut and ex­am­i­na­tions sched­uled for the day have been post­poned in view of the stir.

Andhra was suf­fer­ing a lot due to bandh calls. Our protests should not be detri­men­tal to the in­ter­ests of the state. N Chan­drababu Naidu, Andhra Pradesh CM

CM to fast on April 20

Mean­while, Chief Min­is­ter N Chan­drababu Naidu on Mon­day di­rected his Cab­i­net col­leagues, party leg­is­la­tors and cadre to ob­serve a day’s fast along with him on April 20 to protest the Cen­tre’s ‘in­jus­tice’ to the state.

The Chief Min­is­ter had last week an­nounced that he would ob­serve a day-long fast on his birth­day.

Ad­dress­ing the Tel­ugu De­sam Party co­or­di­na­tion com­mit­tee meet­ing here, Naidu said he would ob­serve the fast in Vi­jayawada and asked 13 min­is­ters to lead the protest in each district.

The re­main­ing nine min­is­ters would sit on fast along with the CM in Vi­jayawada.

‘BJP won’t win in 2019’

CM Naidu also lashed out at the BJP and said the saf­fron party might not win the Lok Sabha polls in 2019.

“Till the other day, ev­ery­body thought the BJP is in­vin­ci­ble but the po­lit­i­cal scene has com­pletely changed now,” he said.—PTI

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.