The Con­gress has been in power for most of the time in the hill state.

The party formed the govern­ment for the first time with 27 leg­is­la­tors in 1952 when there was ter­ri­to­rial coun­cil. YS Par­mar was the first chief min­is­ter. Par­mar led the govern­ment with 45 leg­is­la­tors in 1963 and again when the Vid­han Sabha was con­sti­tuted that year.

The Con­gress was back in power in 1967 and 1977. Thakur Ram Lal led the Con­gress back to power in 1980 but in 1983, the Con­gress high com­mand sent Virb­hadra Singh, a Union min­is­ter, to take charge in the state. His win­ning streak con­tin­ued till 1989. He was check­mated by Shanta Ku­mar but the govern­ment did not last its term. Virb­hadra ruled the state from 1993-98. The Con­gress rode on the anti-in­cum­bency fac­tor to re­turn to power in 2012. But this time Virb­hadra re­mained busy fight­ing cor­rup­tion cases and gov­er­nance took a beat­ing. The cases and de­te­ri­o­rat­ing law and or­der gave the op­po­si­tion am­mu­ni­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.