High­est US civil­ian hon­our for Spiel­berg

Hindustan Times (Patna) - Live - - Entertainment -

Hol­ly­wood film­maker Steven Spiel­berg (above), singers Bar­bra Streisand, Glo­ria Este­fan, James Tay­lor and com­poser Stephen Sond­heim are among the re­cip­i­ents of this year’s Pres­i­den­tial Medal of Free­dom, the coun­try’s high­est civil­ian hon­our. It will be pre­sented to the awardees at the White House by US Pres­i­dent Barack Obama on Novem­ber 24.

Other re­cip­i­ents of the award in­clude vet­eran ac­tivist Bon­nie Car­roll, mu­sic pro­ducer Emilio Este­fan and base­ball leg­end Wil­lie Mays, among many oth­ers, re­ports va­ri­ety.com.

The list of re­cip­i­ents of each year’s Medal of Free­dom usu­ally in­cludes a hand­ful from en­ter­tain­ment, be­sides other fields. Acad­emy Award­win­ning ac­tor Meryl Streep and pop­u­lar mu­si­cian Ste­vie Won­der were among the re­cip­i­ents of the award in 2014.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.