HT Cafe - - Lifestyle -

The In­dian Sports Honours, pre­sented by RP-SG, is a joint ini­tia­tive by crick­eter Vi­rat Kohli and San­jiv Goenka, chair­man, RP-San­jiv Goenka Group. Con­cep­tu­alised by Cor­ner­stone Sport, the In­dian Sports Honours will be an an­nual cel­e­bra­tion of ex­cel­lence in In­dian Sport. In­dian sportsper­sons, who have done the na­tion proud in the sport­ing arena dur­ing a 12-month pe­riod will be recog­nised and re­warded for their per­for­mances at the In­dian Sports Honours.

The in­au­gu­ral In­dian Sports Honours will be held on Satur­day, Novem­ber 11, 2017, at the Grand Hy­att, San­tacruz (E). Per­for­mances by In­dian sportsper­sons from Au­gust 1, 2016 to July 31, 2017 in four team sports and nine­teen in­di­vid­ual sports will be el­i­gi­ble for the awards. A to­tal of 19 awardees will re­ceive the In­dian Sports Honours tro­phy that has been de­rived from the ISH logo, which rep­re­sents the torch of ex­cel­lence. The award cat­e­gories in the Main Honours in­clude Sportswoman of the Year (team sport), Sports­man of the Year (team sport), Sportswoman of the Year (in­di­vid­ual sport), Sports­man of the Year (in­di­vid­ual sport), Team of the Year (men/ women), Coach of the Year, Emerg­ing Sportswoman of the Year and Emerg­ing Sports­man of the Year. The Pop­u­lar Choice Honours in­clude Break­through Per­for­mance of the Year, Come­back of the Year, Play of the year, Club of the Year and Fan Club of the Year. The Jury Honours are Differently abled Sportswoman of the Year, Differently abled Sports­man of the Year, Life­time Achieve­ment Hon­our, In­spi­ra­tional Hon­our, Trans­for­ma­tional con­tri­bu­tion to Sport and Spirit of Sport.

The process of se­lec­tion of the nom­i­nees and even­tu­ally win­ners in­volves the par­tic­i­pa­tion of all the key stake­hold­ers of In­dian Sport – the sportsper­sons them­selves, the sports me­dia and the fans. The Sports Jour­nal­ists Fed­er­a­tion of In­dia (SJFI) re­searched per­for­mances of In­dian sportsper­sons in the pe­riod un­der con­sid­er­a­tion. The sta­tis­tics re­searched by the SJFI were shared with Ernst & Young (EY), the process ad­vi­sors for the In­dian Sports Honours. EY used the data to cre­ate an on­line plat­form, which was used by a panel of SJFI mem­bers to pick their top choices for each of the awards. The win­ners in each of the Main Honours cat­e­gory will be de­cided by a jury chaired by Goenka and Pul­lela Gopic­hand, and com­pris­ing PT Usha, Ma­hesh Bhu­pathi, An­jali Bhag­wat and Ar­jun Halappa.


Pul­lela Gopic­hand, San­jiv Goenka and Vi­rat Kohli

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.