Durga’s bless­ings

The God­dess comes to earth to meet her par­ents and stay here for nine days — mak­ing this one of the most aus­pi­cious pe­ri­ods of the year

HT Estates - - Front Page - Monika Chawla

Ac­cord­ing to Hindu mythol­ogy, Uma, daugh­ter of King Dak­sha of Hi­malayas, mar­ried Lord Shiva against her fa­ther’s will. To take re­venge, King Dak­sha or­gan­ised a yagna for which he in­vited all the deities ex­cept Lord Shiva. The story goes that when Uma vis­ited her par­ents to take part in the yagna with her hus­band, her fa­ther of­fended him. Un­able to bear the in­sult, Uma jumped into the ag­nikund, which is why she is also known as Sati. Af­ter her re­birth, she mar­ried Lord Shiva and made peace with her par­ents. It is said that Sati comes to stay with her par­ents for nine days, which are cel­e­brated as Navra­tri. These nine days are very aus­pi­cious dur­ing which peo­ple fast and pray to wel­come the God­dess, Maa Durga.

This time is con­sid­ered to be very aus­pi­cious for start­ing busi­ness ven­tures and buy­ing prop­erty (homes, of­fices and fac­to­ries) as the bless­ings of Maa Durga are with the peo­ple.

Maa Durga is wor­shipped for nine days in all her nine forms. On day one, we wor­ship Shaila­pu­tri, the first form of Maa Durga and the daugh­ter of Hi­malaya. In her pre­vi­ous birth she was the daugh­ter of Dak­sha. She was also called Bha­vani, that is, wife of Lord Shiva.

On the sec­ond day, we wor­ship Maa Brah­macharini. Here ‘Brahma’ means ‘tapa’. The idol of the God­dess in this form is very gor­geous. There is a rosary in her right hand and ka­man­dal in her left.

The third day is ded­i­cated to Maa Chan­draghanta: She is the third Shakti of Maa Durga. There is a half-cir­cu­lar moon on her fore­head. She has three eyes and 10 hands hold­ing 10 types of swords, weapons and ar­rows.

The fourth day is ded­i­cated to Maa Kush­manda. She shines brightly in all the 10 direc­tions like the sun. She has eight hands. Seven types of weapons are shin- ing in her seven hands and one hand holds a rosary.

The fifth form of Durga is Skanda Mata. The daugh­ter of Hi­malaya, af­ter a pe­riod of penance, got mar­ried to Shiva. She had a son named ‘Skanda’ who was the leader of the army of Gods. Skanda Mata is a de­ity of fire. Skanda is seated in her lap.

Maa Katyayani is the sixth form of Maa Durga. She has three eyes and eight hands and is seated on a lion. Devo­tees seek her bless­ings on the sixth day of the Navra­tras

Maa Kaal­ra­tri is wor­shipped on the seventh day of the Navra­tras and the eighth day is ded­i­cated to Maa Ma­ha­gauri. She is as fair as the moon, the conch and jas­mine. She has three eyes and rides a bull.

The ninth and the fi­nal form of Durga is Sid­dhi­da­tri. There are eight Sid­dhis (ac­com­plish­ments): An­ima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva. Maha Shakti cre­ates all these Sid­dhis. This form of Durga is wor­shipped by all Gods, rishi-mu­nis, sid­dhas, yo­gis, sad­hakas and devo­tees for at­tain­ing Maa’s bless­ings.

Peo­ple un­dergo rig­or­ous fasts on all the nine days of Navra­tri. The fes­ti­val cul­mi­nates with Ma­hanavami. On this day, Kanya Puja is per­formed. Nine young girls rep­re­sent­ing the nine forms of God­dess Durga are wor­shipped. Their feet are washed as a mark of re­spect for the God­dess and then they are of­fered new clothes and gifts by the devo­tees. On all nine days, dan­dia and garba dances, en­ter­tain­ment pro­grammes etc are or­gan­ised at var­i­ous places to cel­e­brate the homecoming of Maa Durga.

May the bless­ings of God­dess Durga and her divine bless­ings pro­tect all her devo­tees this Navra­tras!


Maa Durga is wor­shipped for nine days in all her nine forms

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.