HT Estates - - HTESTATES - – Proy­ashi Barua

POP­U­LA­TION 2.5 TO­TAL West Delhi Lok Sabha con­stituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha con­stituen­cies in the Na­tional Cap­i­tal Ter­ri­tory of Delhi .This con­stituency came into ex­is­tence in 2008 as a part of the im­ple­men­ta­tion of the rec­om­men­da­tions of the De­lim­i­ta­tion Com­mis­sion of In­dia con­sti­tuted in 2002. West Delhi Lok Sabha con­stituency presently com­prises the fol­low­ing ten con­stituen­cies, namely Ra­jouri Gar­den, Madipur, Hari Na­gar, Ti­lak Na­gar, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri , Ut­tam Na­gar, Dwarka, Ma­tiala and Na­jaf­garh. Kis­han Ahuja, a res­i­dent of Janakpuri says: “West Delhi has the worst possi- ble power out­ages in sum­mer. Need­less to say this dis­rupts nor­mal life and even leads to wa­ter short­age. There have been sev­eral in­ci­dents of power thefts whereby anti-so­cial el­e­ments from unau­tho­rised colonies and jhug­gis have di­verted power lines from the poles to suit their in­ter­ests. The new gov­ern­ment will have to ad­dress this is­sue on pri­or­ity.” Clean drink­ing wa­ter sup­ply is an is­sue in th­ese parts, es­pe­cially inthe unau­tho­rised colonies, says Neeraj Gupta, a se­nior of­fi­cer work­ing in the elec­tric­ity board.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.