No Seats for BJP in Ker­ala

The Economic Times - - Pure Politics - OUR BUREAU

Ker­ala has emerged the only ma­jor state where Congress has emerged on top, with the party-led United Demo­cratic Front win­ning 12 out of 20 seats. The state also elected max­i­mum num­ber of Left can­di­dates with CPM-led Left Demo­cratic Front (LDF) win­ning eight seats. Se­nior leader O Ra­jagopal came very close to be­com­ing the first BJP leader to win a par­lia­men­tary seat in Ker­ala, hold­ing lead sev­eral times be­fore los­ing out to Congress’ Shashi Tha­roor by 14,501 votes in Thiruvananthapuram. For both Congress and CPM, Ker­ala was the only con­so­la­tion with Congress tak­ing a drub­bing across the coun­try and Left los­ing heav­ily to Ma­mata Ban­er­jee’s Tri­namool Congress in West Ben­gal. Though most of the Congress min­is­ters have lost na­tion­ally, all the cen­tral min­is­ters from the state — Shashi Tha­roor, Kodikun­nil Suresh, K C Venu­gopal, K V Thomas, E Ahmed and Mul­lap­pally Ra­machan­dran — have been re­elected. The prom­i­nent losers in the state are P C Chacko (Congress), for­mer Union min­is­ter M P Veeren­dra Ku­mar (So­cial­ist Janatha–Demo­cratic), K Sud­hakaran (Congress) and CPM polit bureau mem­ber MA Baby.

BJP came very close to win a seat in Ker­ala, but even­tu­ally Ra­jagopal lost to Shashi Tha­roor by 14,501 votes

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.