EC Gives List of New LS MPs to Pres­i­dent

The Economic Times - - Pure Politics -

NEW DELHI: The EC has called on Pres­i­dent Pranab Mukher­jee and handed over the list of 543 elected LS mem­bers that will en­able him ini­ti­ate the for­mal process of new govern­ment for­ma­tion. CEC VS Sam­path and the other two Com­mis­sion­ers HS Brahma and Nasim Zaidi met the Pres­i­dent at Rash­tra­p­ati Bha­van and gave him a copy of the no­ti­fi­ca­tion is­sued by the poll body in terms of pro­vi­sions of Rep­re­sen­ta­tion of the People Act con­tain­ing the names of MPs elected in the just­con­cluded polls. While the no­ti­fi­ca­tion sets in mo­tion the con­sti­tu­tion of the 16th Lok Sabha, the list given to the Pres­i­dent en­ables him to ini­ti­ate govern­ment for­ma­tion process.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.