Adityanath takes the Coun­cil route

The Hindu - - NEWS -

Ut­tar Pradesh Chief Min­is­ter Yogi Adityanath, Deputy Chief Min­is­ters Keshav Prasad Mau­rya and Di­nesh Sharma and two Min­is­ters will con­test the Leg­isla­tive Coun­cil by­elec­tions to be held in Septem­ber.

They are re­quired to get elected as MLA or MLC by Septem­ber 19, as none is a mem­ber of ei­ther House. They took oath on March 19.

The BJP’s cen­tral elec­tion com­mit­tee on Wed­nes­day an­nounced the five can­di­dates for the by­elec­tions. Trans­port Min­is­ter Swatantra Dev Singh and Waqf and Haj Min­is­ter Mohsin Raza are among the con­tes­tants.

All five are ex­pected to have a smooth sail­ing even if a con­test is ne­ces­si­tated given the unas­sail­able ma­jor­ity the BJP has in the As­sem­bly. Along with its two al­lies, Apna Dal and Suheldev Bharatiya Sa­maj Party, the rul­ing BJP has 324 out of the 403 seats. The fig­ure was re­duced by one af­ter BJP MLA Mathura Prasad Pal died in July.

The by­elec­tion sched­ule released by the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion has pro­vided re­lief to the BJP, clear­ing the way for the en­try of all its can­di­dates. State Chief Elec­tion Of­fi­cer Am­rita Soni on Au­gust 24 an­nounced the by­elec­tion to four seats.

How­ever, the EC on Tues­day an­nounced the by­elec­tion to one more seat. The fil­ing of nom­i­na­tions for four seats started on Au­gust 29. Polling will take place on Septem­ber 15. Fil­ing of nom­i­na­tions for the sin­gle seat has been sched­uled from Au­gust 31 and vot­ing on Septem­ber 18.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.