Iran re­luc­tant to make wheat tar­iff con­ces­sions within EAEU free trade zone

Tehran Times - - ECONOMY -

MOSCOW (TASS) — Iran is ready to make tar­iff con­ces­sions on a wide range of agri­cul­ture prod­ucts, ex­clud­ing wheat, re­fined oil, min­eral wa­ter and cig­a­rettes, within a free trade zone with the Eurasian Eco­nomic Union (EAEU) that is be­ing formed now, ac­cord­ing to Rus­sian Agri­cul­ture Min­istry’s re­port re­leased after an­other round of con­sul­ta­tions on a tem­po­rary agree­ment mak­ing for the cre­ation of Iran-EAEU free trade zone at­tended by Deputy Min­is­ter Evgeny Gromyko.

“In its max­i­mum pro­posal pre­sented at the round, Iran demon­strated its readi­ness to make con­ces­sions un­der the terms re­quested by mem­ber-states, in al­most all items the EAEU is in­ter­ested in, ex­clud­ing wheat, re­fined oil, min­eral wa­ter and cig­a­rettes,” the min­istry said.

No agree­ments were made fol­low­ing the con­sul­ta­tions as the sides failed to reach a “mu­tu­ally ac­cept­able com­pro­mise, the ne­go­ti­a­tions will con­tinue,” the re­port said.

Pres­i­dents of Rus­sia, Kaza­khstan, Kyr­gyzs­tan and Ar­me­nia ap­proved the pro­pos­als on the launch of ne­go­ti­a­tions on a free trade zone with Iran, Egypt, In­dia and Sin­ga­pore at the sum­mit of the Eurasian Eco­nomic Union in De­cem­ber 2016. Ar­me­nian President Serzh Sargsyan said then that the Ira­nian President Has­san Rouhani had ex­pressed in­ter­est in sign­ing an in­terim agree­ment with the EAEU, lead­ing to the for­ma­tion of a free trade zone.

On March 7, 2017, the in­ter­gov­ern­men­tal com­mit­tee of the Eurasian Eco­nomic Union made a res­o­lu­tion to start prepa­ra­tion of a rel­e­vant agree­ment. The doc­u­ment was ap­proved fol­low­ing the re­sults of the com­mit­tee’s meet­ing held in the Kyr­gyz cap­i­tal of Bishkek.

The Eurasian Eco­nomic Union (EAEU) is an in­ter­na­tional in­te­gra­tion eco­nomic as­so­ci­a­tion of Rus­sia, Be­larus, Kaza­khstan, Ar­me­nia and Kyr­gyzs­tan. The EAEU came into ex­is­tence from Jan­uary 1, 2015 hav­ing su­per­seded the Eurasian Eco­nomic Com­mu­nity (EurAaEC) that func­tioned from 2000 to 2014.

The Treaty on the es­tab­lish­ment of the EAEU was signed by the pres­i­dents of Rus­sia, Be­larus and Kaza­khstan on May 29, 2014 in As­tana.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Iran

© PressReader. All rights reserved.