O’Toole’s book their place in semi-fi­nals

Bray People - - Sport -

Luke O’Toole’s 2-11, St. Ni­cholas 0-10: The first of the quar­ter­fi­nals was played in An­nacurra on Fri­day night and saw Luke O’Toole’s beat St Ni­cholas af­ter a well­con­tested match. JOHN WALL MFC Michael Phe­lan gave St. Ni­cholas the lead with a point but points by An­drew Holt, Shane O’Ke­effe and Wil­lie Doyle put the O’Toole’s in the driv­ing seat.

Points by Mark Rigley and Kevin Rouse lev­elled the match but a goal by lo­cal lad Ian McDon­ald in the 21st minute left O’Toole’s lead­ing by 1-6 to 0-6 at half-time.

Shane O’Ke­effe stretched the O’Toole’s lead with a point on the restart but Mark Rigley kept the Dunlavin side in touch. Paul O’Ke­effe and Wil­lie Doyle added points but Stephen Deer­ing pow­ered through from cen­tre­back to rally St. Nick’s with a great point.

The goal that sealed the is­sue came in the 14th minute.

Brian Walsh, Ian McDon­ald and Shane O’Ke­effe did the spade work and Wil­lie Doyle ap­plied the fin­ish.

Sub Enda Fin­nan tacked on two points and while Mark Rigley pulled two back in the clos­ing min­utes it was not enough to save the day for the boys from the west.

O’Tooles march on to the semi-fi­nals where they take on the hold­ers Bless­ing­ton while St. Ni­cholas have still the B Cham­pi­onship to look for­ward to.

County player Der­mot Daly was miss­ing from the St. Ni­cholas team and was a big loss up front.

Luke O’Toole’s: Niall Byrne, Ja­son Doyle, Eoin O’Lough­lin; Ben Jack­man; Martin O’Brien, Robert Lam­bert, James Gil­bert; Brian Walsh, Paul O’Ke­effe; Luke Bren­nan, Stephen Dil­lon (0-2), An­drew Holt (0-1); Wil­lie Doyle (1-2), Ian McDon­ald (1-0), Shane O’Ke­effe (0-3). Subs Enda Fin­nan (0-2) for Bren­nan; Thomas Dal­ton for Jack­man; Niall Dempsey for S.O’Ke­effe and Pat Dil­lon for Doyle.

St. Ni­cholas: Garry Car­roll; Nigel Willis, Kevin Mi­ley, Paul Tack­aberry; James Kelly, Stephen Deer­ing (0-1), Ja­son Bowes; Mark Rigley (0-6), Niall Cur­ran; Kevin Rouse (0-1), Mark Whe­lan, John Lawlor; Shane O’Rourke (0-1), Michael Phe­lan (0-1), Colm O’Rourke. Subs. - Ciarán Thorn­ton for Kelly (inj.); David Han­lon for Whe­lan.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.