Wick­low’s un­der-16 hurlers win All-Ire­land crown

Bray People - - Sport -

THE WICK­LOW U-16 hurlers won the B All-Ire­land C Hurl­ing com­pe­ti­tion on Satur­day, Au­gust 30. The team played five matches in all.

They were tough matches against Ar­magh, Kerry and Wex­ford ini­tially in St. Lo­man’s, Mullingar. The team then moved to Kin­negad where they met Roscom­mon in the semi­fi­nal (1-10 to 0-9) and Ar­magh in the fi­nal.

While Ar­magh beat Wick­low in the first round 2-6 to 1-4, Wick­low came out on top in the fi­nal with a score­line of 3-5 to 24.

The play­ers and team man­age­ment were very pleased with the sup­port they re­ceived on the day with many par­ents trav­el­ling. They also very much ap­pre­ci­ated Coiste na nOg Chair­man, Michael O’Toole, spending the full day with them.

Paudie But­ler, Na­tional Hurl­ing Coach, pre­sented the cap­tain, Harry Stephen­son, with the tro­phy and praised the skill, en­ergy and determination of the play­ers in the fi­nal con­sid­er­ing they had played five hard matches.

Harry thanked the County Board for their sup­port, the man­age­ment team of Michael Byrne, Syl Ivers, Tim Balfe and Frances Stephen­son and he gave a spe­cial men­tion to Ali Byrne for looking af­ter the team so well when train­ing in Ark­low Rocks.

He also com­ple­mented his team mem­bers for their hard work over the past weeks train­ing. The fu­ture augers well for this team of lads if they stay work­ing and train­ing to­gether. They showed great strength of char­ac­ter on Satur­day and did their county proud. The team in­cluded: Peter O’Reil-

(Bray Em­mets), Cil­lian O Maolmhuaidh (Bray Em­mets), John Doyle (Carnew Em­mets), John Deeney (Eire Og), Luke O’Reilly (Bray Em­mets), Martin O’Brien, Vice Capt. (Carnew Em­mets), Harry Stephen­son, Capt. (Bray Em­mets), Shane Keogh (Glenealy), Ar­ran Mur­phy (Bray Em­mets), Eoghan O’Ma­hony (St Pa­trick’s), John Hen­der­son (Bray Em­mets), Jim O’Brien ( St Pa­trick’s), Conor Sex­ton ( St Pa­trick’s), Alan Con­yard (Glenealy), John Man­ley (Glenealy), Ciarán Balfe (Carnew Em­mets), Joseph Hughes (Carnew Em­mets), Mark Mur­phy (Ark­low Rocks), Glen O’Gor­man (Glenealy), Dale Quin ( St Pa­trick’s), Ea­mon Quirk (Ark­low Rocks), John Con­roy (Bray Em­mets), An­drew Con­way (St Pa­trick’s), Robin Far­relly (Glenealy), Joseph Ho­gan (Glenealy). A num­ber of play­ers were un­able to travel due to in­jury in­clud­ing Dara Maloney (Bray Em­mets), Ea­mon Doyle (Ark­low Rocks) and Billy Mol­loy (Carnew Em­mets).

Wick­low un­der-16 hurlers, win­ners of the B All-Ire­land C hurl­ing com­pe­ti­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.