Bray make it a mag­nif­i­cent seven


Bray People - - Sport -

Bray Em­mets 4-2, Glenealy 2-5: Bray Em­mets must surely have set an unas­sail­able record in un­der-14 hurl­ing as a re­sult of winning their sev­enth cham­pi­onship ti­tle on the trot at the week­end. U-14 A HURL­ING FI­NAL Bray U-14 hurlers de­feated Glenealy by 4-2 to 2-5 in the fi­nal to keep their un­beaten run in this cham­pi­onship grade in­tact since 2002.

Glenealy had the back­ing of the wind in the first-half and while they led by 1-3 to 1-0 at half-time it was also the pe­riod when they lost this match as they frit­ted away many good scor­ing chances to build a com­mand­ing lead.

And then, just be­fore the break, they suf­fered an­other se­vere blow to their hopes when Bray re­sponded with a tonic goal scored by Jim Doyle, which gave them the boost to go for the jugu­lar on the change over. With the wind at their backs, Bray ham­mered home fur­ther killer goals from Doyle, Cian O’Byrne and Aaron Bart­ley, scores that put the even­tual win­ners into the driv­ing seat.

In gal­lant fash­ion, Glenealy came back for three points to nar­row the gap but it was not suf­fi­cient to dis­lodge Bray from their en­trenched lead.

This con­test, an ex­cel­lent ex­hi­bi­tion of un­der-age hurl­ing, was a great ad­ver­tise­ment for ju­ve­nile hurl­ing, with both teams hav­ing con­trib­uted many play­ers to the county team which did so well dur­ing the sum­mer.

Bray’s scor­ers were Jim Doyle (2-2), Cian O’Byrne (10) and An­drew Bart­ley (1-0).

Re­spond­ing for gal­lant Glenealy were: Daniel Staunton (1-1), John O’Halloran (1-0), Aaron Nu­gent (0-3), and Conor Lin­nane (0-1).

Af­ter­wards, Pat Mitchell pre­sented the tro­phy to Bray cap­tain Cathal O Dualachain and the Peo­ple News­pa­pers man-of-the-match award to Enda O Maoilmhuaid.

Bray Em­mets: Josh Con­nolly, Daire Lo­han, Daire Hen­der­son, Cathal O Dualachain, Marc Len­non, Enda Maoilmhuaid, Luke Maloney, Muiris O Floinn, Diar­muid Master­son, Ben McCormack, Jim Doyle, An­drew Bart­ley, Cian O’Byrne, Danny O’Toole, Ryan Ty­nan. Subs: Gra­ham Sut­ton, Paul Mo­ran, Ryan Fa­gan, Alan Dougan, Stephen Kir­wan, Matthew Thomp­son, Eoin McCormack.

Glenealy: Stephen Cruise, Dean O’Gor­man, James Man­ley, Neil O’Gor­man, David Dowl­ing, Conor Lin­nane, Fi­acra McDer­mott, Aaron Nu­gent, Paul El­lis, Daniel Staunton, Ross Quinn, Jamie Byrne, Em­met Byrne, Gavin Weir, Adam Cooney. Subs: Owen Con­nolly, Ryan Es­monde, David Ward, Cor­mac Geraghty, Roy Kenny, John O’Halloran, Philip O’Neill, Ryan Healy/Devlin, Ro­nan Man­ley, James Mer­nagh.

The ref­eree was Jimmy Kelly who was also the of­fi­cial in charge of the U-14 foot­ball fi­nal.

Bray Em­mets, win­ners of the Un­der-14 A hurl­ing cham­pi­onship.

Beaten fi­nal­isits Glenealy.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.