Woman gets €45,000 for share of €240,000 home

CIVIL COURT EX-PART­NERS IN BAT­TLE OVER PROP­ERTY

Bray People - - News -

A WOMAN now liv­ing in County Wick­low re­ceived € 45,000 for her share of the € 240,000 home she once shared with her ex-boyfriend af­ter she was of­fered a set­tle­ment of € 70,000 some time af­ter they had bro­ken up.

Jen­nifer Gib­son and Fran­cis Boyne faced one-an­other in Dublin Cir­cuit Civil Court, as she asked Judge Jac­que­line Lin­nane to quan­tify her par­tic­u­lar fi­nan­cial in­ter­est in their for­mer res­i­dence at an adress of 28 The Grove, Hun­ters Run, Clonee, County Meath.

Ms Gib­son now lives in Wick­low with a new part­ner, while Mr. Boyne now shares The Grove with his new part­ner.

Nei­ther party could agree as to the rea­son they split up, with Ms Gib­son claim­ing it was be­cause of Mr. Boyne’s phys­i­cal vi­o­lence to­ward her, while he claimed it was be­cause she had been in­volved in an af­fair with a work col­league.

The cou­ple had been to­gether since 1999 and bought The Grove in 2002 for € 220,000 in joint names.

Mr. Boyne paid 50 per cent of the price with the pro­ceeds of his for­mer home.

A sec­ond mort­gage was taken out for € 45,000 to re­fur­bish the house.

Mr. Boyne, a € 62,000 a year taxi driver, had paid all mort­gage re­pay­ments and some bills. Ms Gib­son, a € 26,000 a year re­cep­tion- ist, claimed she paid gas, elec­tric­ity and other bills.

Her coun­sel also told the court that she was will­ing to ac­cept € 60,000 prior to the start of the case. She moved out of The Grove in Septem­ber 2006.

Judge Lin­nane said it had been sug­gested Mr. Boyne at all times paid mort­gage pay­ments, in­surances and other bills.

Mr. Boyne’s con­tri­bu­tion to the pur­chase price and the fact he had been solely re­spon­si­ble for the mortgages since Ms Gib­son moved out were all taken into con­sid­er­a­tion by the judge.

Mr. Boyne was or­dered to pay Ms Gib­son € 45,000 within six months for her in­ter­est in the prop­erty.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.