Su­perb day of Bad­minton

Bray People - - SPORT -

COLÁISTE CHILL MHAN­TÁIN wel­comed a num­ber of teams to the school on Jan­uary 14 to par­tic­i­pate in an U-19 blitz with a boys and girls com­pe­ti­tion be­ing run. Par­tic­i­pat­ing in the boys blitz were the host school Coláiste Chill Mhan­táin, St. Kevin's Dunlavin and East Glen­dalough School.

In the girls sec­tion it was Do­mini­can Con­vent Wicklow, Loreto Bray and East Glen­dalough School.

The boy's com­pe­ti­tion was held in the morn­ing and proved to be a tight con­test through­out be­tween C.C.M.A and E.G.S with it all to play for in the fi­nal dou­bles match.

It ended all square in the com­pe­ti­tion with both teams win­ning 13 matches each top­ping the ta­ble ahead of St Kevins Dunlavin and C.C.M B.

Much like a box­ing match it came down to a count back, with C.C.M A win­ning it on the over­all points scored. The team for C.C.M was; Enda Dempsey, David Sta­ple­ton, Seán O'Cal­laghan and Daniel 'Jack' Mont­gomery.

The girls also had a great com­pe­ti­tion with very com­pet­i­tive games through­out the day.

This com­pe­ti­tion again was all up for grabs go­ing into the fi­nal round of games af­ter some won­der­ful dis­plays of power and skill.

In the end the Do­mini­can Con­vent Wicklow pre­vailed and were crowned wor­thy cham­pi­ons af­ter a tough chal­lenge. The team for DCW was Jen Lyons, Naoise Gal­lagher, Ameé Mooney and Katie Roche

Well done to the County Wicklow Ju­ve­nile Bad­minton Com­mit­tee for or­gan­is­ing the day and thanks to Mr. P Donoghue, Prin­ci­pal of Coláiste Chill Mhan­táin for fa­cil­i­tat­ing the blitz.

The com­mit­tee wish the teams from Coláiste Cill Mhan­táin, St. Kevin's, Do­mini­can Con­vent and Loreto all the best in the Le­in­ster fi­nals.

The Dom­in­can Col­lege Wicklow team: Jen­nifer Lyons, Ameé Mooney,

Naoise Gal­lagher and Katie Roche. The St Kevin’s team: Cather­ine O’Con­nell

(teacher), Dil­lon Richard­sons, Jamie Mel­calfe. Ki­na­han, Jack Cullen, Jack Mi­ley, and


The victorious Coláiste Chill Mhan­táin side of Enda Dempsey, David Sta­ple­ton,

Sean O’Cal­laghan and Jack Mont­gomery.

The Loreto Bray ‘A’ and ‘B’ squads:

Erin Mon­teto, Rizza Mamor­ica, Laura Clare Treacy, Fon Duangnet, Sinead Gas­coigne,

Flood, Jen­nifer Fin­lay and Deirdre O’Rourke.

From East Glen­dalough: Gary Stu­art, Kil­lian O’Reilly, Tom McHugh,

Colin Woodruff and teacher John McGet­ti­gan.

From East Glen­dalough were Nolan, Shan­non Kerr and

Katie Nolan, Sally Susie Sut­ton.

were Cian The ‘B’ team from Coláiste Chill Mhan­táin Grif­fin, James Wynne, Paul Newell

and David Col­lard.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.