Wick­low win over Deise

Bray People - - SPORT -

his long jour­ney up the field was a wasted one un­for­tu­nately.

A penalty won by Conor McGraynor on the cusp of half time was fired wide by Leighton Glynn who seemed to strike the ground first or some­thing sim­i­lar and his low shot bob­bled wide of the Water­ford post. As a re­sult of the foul for the penalty Water­ford's Tony Grey was black carded and Michael O'Gor­man was sent in to re­place him.

A Shane Ahearn point was can­celled out by a Dar­ren Hay­den ef­fort and one from Rory Finn, but Water­ford added three more points of their own to leave it 0-10 to 0-08 af­ter 10 min­utes of the sec­ond half.

Harry Mur­phy with­drew Conor McGraynor and sent in James Stafford and then Damien Power worked his de­fen­sive magic that led to a Fur­long point.

Water­ford struck back though JJ Hutchin­son and then Michael O'Gor­man made it a one point game. But then Seanie re­leased his ge­nius.

Ex­cel­lent work by Ciaran Hyland saw the ball find Rory Finn. The Kil­te­gan man slipped it to Anthony McLough­lin, to Alan Byrne, to Dean Healy who fired a long ball to Fur­long, a mo­ment of at­tack­ing magic and Stephen En­right is pick­ing the ball from the back of his net.

Kevin Mur­phy pointed the first of his pair of beau­ties and two min­utes later he added his sec­ond. And then a side­line ball from Rory Finn found the wel­com­ing arms of his Kil­te­gan club­man Fur­long who twisted and turned and weaved his way past En­right to fire home again. Game over.

Paul Cunningham, in­tro­duced for Paul Earls bombed over a fine score af­ter run­ning 30 yards to do so and while Water­ford added two late scores the job was done.

Tip­per­ary next week in the beau­ti­ful en­clo­sure of Sem­ple Sta­dium. Vic­tory there and an Antrim win over Clare up north and it's Di­vi­sion 3 foot­ball in 2015. But let's deal with Tipp first.

Scor­ers - Wick­low: Seanie Fur­long 2-04 (2f); Dar­ren Hay­den 0-02; Paudge McWal­ter 0-02; Kevin Mur­phy 0-02; Leighton Glynn 0-01; Conor McGraynor 0-01; Rory Finn 0-01; Paul Cunningham 0-01.

Water­ford: Shane Ahearn 0-05 (4f); Tony Grey 0-02; JJ Hutchin­son 0-02; Paul Whyte 0-01; Michael O'Gor­man 0-01; O'Lion­nain 0-01.

Wick­low's Conor McGraynor steam­rolls over team mate Seanie Fur­long and through Water­ford's Thomas O'Gor­man and Ciaran Con­nery to set up a penalty dur­ing the NFL in Aughrim.

Wick­low’s Paudge McWal­ter on the at­tack.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.