Coláiste Chraobh Ab­hann

Bray People - - NEWS -


Prize Day took place on Fri­day, May 20. The whole school com­mu­nity and in­vited guests took time to recog­nise the hard work and great ef­forts of our stu­dents over the past aca­demic year in many cat­e­gories in­clud­ing aca­demic, sport­ing, lead­er­ship, en­trepreneur­ship, civic, cul­tural, mu­si­cal and artis­tic.

Stu­dents were awarded aca­demic prizes in each sub­ject area, with a num­ber of sixth year stu­dents re­ceiv­ing per­pet­ual awards for sub­jects stud­ied in their Leav­ing Cer­tifi­cate year. Sport­ing awards cover­ing team and in­di­vid­ual ef­forts from camo­gie, soc­cer and hurl­ing to bas­ket­ball and ath­let­ics were also pre­sented.


To­mor­row evening, May 26, sixth year stu­dents will bid an emo­tional farewell to Coláiste Chraobh Ab­hann at their fi­nal grad­u­a­tion cer­e­mony. There will be speeches from stu­dents and staff and a se­ries of songs sung by the stu­dents.

Ms Smith, year head, will give the ‘Rogha na Bliana’ award to the most out­stand­ing boy and girl of the year, along with other prizes. Staff, par­ents and lo­cal clergy will be in at­ten­dance for what prom­ises to be a mem­o­rable evening.


Staff, stu­dents and par­ents look for­ward to an ex­cit­ing and var­ied evening on Tues­day, May 31, at the TY ex­hi­bi­tion evening. This is an evening where par­ents can re­ally ap­pre­ci­ate the per­sonal devel­op­ment and team­work that marks out TY as such an im­por­tant year for many stu­dents. There will be ex­hibits cover­ing en­trepreneur­ship, music, drama, art and many more. Many thanks to all the staff who are help­ing pre­pare stu­dents for this im­por­tant evening.


Well done to Laoise Cullen in Tran­si­tion Year who re­cently com­peted in the Leinster Ath­let­ics Cham­pi­onships. She came third in the Ham­mer Throw and is now through to the All-Ire­land fi­nals in June. Laoise also came away with fifth place in the Dis­cus. Con­grat­u­la­tions and best wishes Laoise!

PEER MEN­TORS 2016/2017

Well done to the fol­low­ing stu­dents who have been se­lected as Peer Men­tors for the 2016/2017 school year: Jade Byrne, Stephen Hunt, Lau­ryn Cough­lan, Molly Hayes, Luke Byrne, Aoife Cullinan, Marc Brady, Roisin Con­naughton, Brian Short, Laoise Cullen, Roisin Kee­gan, Cian Cullen, Roisin Bel­ton, Matthew Byrne and Chloe Long­more.

PRE­FECTS 2016/2017

Well done to the fol­low­ing stu­dents who have been se­lected as Pre­fects for next year: Conor Mur­phy Toole, Jack Bel­lamy, Thomas Kearns, Conor Rubal­cava, Conor Clack, Jimmy Mur­phy, Eoin Vines, Ei­man­tas Pauk­ste, Kil­lian Car­lin Han­non, Clodagh Brad­shaw, Sinéad Roche, Rachel Kennedy, Jessie Kenny, Holly Martin, Eimear Jor­dan, Orla Brad­shaw, Sophia Smirnova and Robyn Rooney. Th­ese stu­dents will take on su­per­vi­sion and lead­er­ship roles around the school.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.