Moore­house shines as Pat’s storm to vic­tory

Bray People - - SPORT -


THE abil­ity of St Pa­trick’s to score goals at cru­cial stages through­out the sec­ond half cre­ates a false im­pres­sion of the con­tri­bu­tion North District brought to this un­der-17 A hurl­ing Shield fi­nal, played in Pearse’s Park, Ark­low, on Satur­day evening last.

They were eight points in ar­rears at half time but con­tin­ued to hurl well for good pe­ri­ods of the sec­ond half.

But the old maxim that “goals win games” meant that St Pat’s were com­fort­ably in com­mand on the score­board from the time that Paddy Moore­house net­ted the first of his hat-trick of goals after 20 min­utes.

He com­pleted the hat trick half way through the sec­ond half and handed over to sub­sti­tute John O’Brien who net­ted two more be­fore the fin­ish.

Both sides had some fine young hurlers on dis­play. Oisin Curry in goal for the North had some fine saves to his credit. Brian Short and Joe McDon­ald bat­tled hard in defence. Niall Browne and Leo Han­ney showed some nice touches through­out while up front Shaun Cran­ley, Eoin Dor­gan, Thomas Moore­house and Luke Dor­gan kept pick­ing off the points.

The vic­tors, St Pat’s, were well served by Conor O’Ma­hony in goal, de­fend­ers Ea­mon Ke­hoe, TJ Ke­hoe, Mikey Grif­fin, mid fielder James Byrne and Pa­trick Mur­phy.

Up front Paddy Moore­house re­ceived great sup­port from Tom O’Brien, Adam Syn­nott and sub­sti­tute John O’Brien.

St Pat’s led by 1-12 to 0-7 at half time and ran out win­ners on a score­line of 5-17 to 0-13.

The un­der-17 Shield was pre­sented after the game to St Pa­trick’s cap­tain Paddy Mur­phy.

The Man of the Match award went to Paddy Moore­house.

Scor­ers – St Pa­trick’s: Paddy Moore­house 3-6, John O’Brien 2-2, Pa­trick Mur­phy 0-5, De­nis O’Brien 0-1, James Byrne 0-1, Bill O’Brien 0-1, Adam Syn­nott 0-1.

North District: Shaun Cran­ley 0-6, Eoin Dor­gan 0-3, Thomas Moore­house 0-2, Joe McDon­ald 0-1, Leo Han­ney 0-1.

Conor O’Ma­hony; Kyle Mur­phy, Ea­mon Ke­hoe, Mick Moore­house; T J Ke­hoe, Mikey Grif­fin, Christy Moore­house; Pa­trick Mur­phy, James Byrne; Nathan Goucher, Luke Syn­nott, Tom O’Brien; Daniel O’Brien, Paddy Moore­house, Adam Syn­nott. Subs – Bill O’Brien, Aaron Mur­phy, John O’Brien, Robert Mof­fatt.

Oisin Curry; Cil­lian Keane, Shane Ryan, Mar­wan Macha­lanni; Glen Ry­der, Brian Short, Joe McDon­ald; Neill Browne, Leo Han­ney; Glenn Dunne, Shaun Cran­ley, Eoin Dor­gan; Joe Pren­der­gast, Thomas Moore­house, Luke Dor­gan.

Eu­gene Do­herty.

The St Pa­trick’s un­der-17 hurlers who claimed the un­der-17 A hurl­ing Shield crown.

Pa­trick Mur­phy re­ceives the cup from Mick Ha­gan.

Paddy Moore­house was MOTM.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.