Lee­vale’s Walsh races ahead in Ballincol­lig

Irish Examiner - County - - Sport - John Wal­she

Mark Walsh of Lee­vale was a clear win­ner of the an­nual Belle of Ballincol­lig 5km road race, his time of 16:17 giv­ing him a half-minute to spare over new Lee­vale re­cruit, Nathan O’Leary.

The race, which took place in fan­tas­tic con­di­tions, at­tracted a great crowd and there were some mem­o­rable per­for­mances on the night, none more so than that of win­ner Mark Walsh, who ran su­perbly to beat all com­ers.

Barry O’Shea of the Mi­dle­ton club was third in 17:02 with mas­ter run­ners Fin­barr O’Dwyer (17:04) and Ken Devine (17:17) hav­ing good runs, fin­ish­ing fourth and fifth.

Anna Red­din, a mem­ber of Dublin club Cru­saders but who is at­tend­ing UCC, was an even more con­vinc­ing win­ner when tak­ing the fe­male hon­ours in a time of 17:49.

Red­din has al­ready this spring notched up vic­to­ries over 5km at Bweeng and 3000m at the Lee­vale Sports.

Two St Fin­barr’s ath­letes, Geral­dine O’Shea and Siob­han Hol­land, took sec­ond and third places with Mary Buck­ley of Donough­more in fourth.

In other ac­tion, De­clan Moore of the Bil­boa club won the Kil­fi­nane four-mile race, part of the Bal­ly­houra Ac­tive Se­ries, in the fast time of 20:30, al­most two min­utes ahead of John Hart­nett of An Bru.

Brigita Luk­ste of North Cork was first of the women in a time of 25:22.

In the Don­eraile Park 5km, Martina Kiely of St Fin­barr’s fin­ished fourth over­all to claim fe­male hon­ours in a fine time of 18:43.

To n y F o g a r t y ( Te m p l e - more) won the race in 17:13.

1 M Walsh (Lee­vale) 16:17; 2 N O’Leary (Lee­vale) 16:47; 3 B O’Shea (Mi­dle­ton) 17:02; 4 F O’Dwyer (Lee­vale, M40) 17:04; 5 K Devine (St Fin­barrs, M50) 17:17; 6 C Bouse (Ea­gle) 17:26.d M40: 2 C O’Brien (Ea­gle) 18:59; 3 N O’Leary (UCC) 19:06.

2 G O’Donoghue (unatt) 21:19; 3 K Twomey (unatt) 21:55.

1 DJ Guiney (unatt) 21:49; 2 D Fo­ley (unatt) 21:56; 3 G Mar­shall (unatt) 22:45.

1 A Red­din (Cru­saders) 17:49; 2 G O’Shea (St Fin­barrs, F50) 21:05; 3 S Hol­land (St Fin­barrs, F40) 21:58; 4 M Buck­ley (Donough­more, F50) 22:17; 5 F O’Toole (unatt) 22:25; 6 E Jor­dan (unatt) 22:27.

2 L Madi­gan (unatt) 22:42; 3 L O’Sul­li­van (St Fin­barrs) 22:46;

3 L Ho­gan (unatt) 23:29.

Mark Walsh of Lee­vale, win­ner of the Ballincol­lig 5km, re­ceiv­ing his prize from Amy Jones, Belle of Ballincol­lig. Also pic­tured is Conor Wil­lis of spon­sors Ross Oil.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.