Ramor cel­e­brate in style after land­ing club of the year ti­tle

Irish Examiner - Farming - - MACRA -

Ramor Macra, Co Ca­van, took home the cov­eted prize of Macra Club of the Year at the ‘Make It Meath’ Macra na Feirme Royal Rally at the Ci­tyNorth Ho­tel and Con­fer­ence Cen­tre in Gor­manston. Six clubs in all were in the run­ning for the prize, with Ramor fac­ing stiff com­pe­ti­tion from four Cork clubs and a club from Laois.

Clubs from across the coun­try had been whit­tled down to con­test a semi-fi­nal, with the top six clubs emerg­ing from that stage con­test­ing the na­tional fi­nal at The Rally.

G l a n m i r e M a c r a f ro m Cork’s Se­andún re­gion; Muskerry Co Cork club Aghi­nagh Macra; Bal­li­nascarthy Macra of Cork’s Car­bery re­gion; Freemount Macra from Avondhu, Co Cork; and Mount­mel­lick Macra, Laois; faced off against Ramor at the fi­nal.

The ti­tle recog­nises clubs’ ef­forts and achieve­ments through­out the year, and is the high­est ac­co­lade a club can achieve.

A Best New Mem­ber Award was also pre­sented as part of the com­pe­ti­tion to one in­di­vid­ual Macra mem­ber who was deemed by his or her club to have made a sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tion to its de­vel­op­ment dur­ing their first year of mem­ber­ship.

C a va n a g a i n t r i u m p h e d , with Enda Shalvey(Maud­abawn) tak­ing the ac­co­lade. Mean­while, the Macra na Feirme/Or­nua Beef and Sheep Stock­judg­ing Al­lIre­land fi­nals took place on Sun­day.

Prizes were awarded in three cat­e­gories: Se­nior Beef Stock­judg­ing, U23 Beef Stock­judg­ing and Se­nior Sheep Stock­judg­ing. Siob­han Ring Freemount, Avondhu, scooped first prize in the Se­nior Beef Stock­judg­ing, while top prize in the U23 cat­e­gory went to Flor McCarthy Ken­mare, Kerry. The Sheep Stock­judg­ing event was won by Dar­rell Mee­han Bal­li­nagore, West­meath. Run­ners-up in this cat­e­gory were Patie Looney in Ken­mare in the Se­nior Beef Stock­judg­ing com­pe­ti­tion; Pa­trick Byrne, Tul­low, in the U23 Beef Stock­judg­ing; and Caro­line Kir­wan, Clonoulty Ross­more in the Sheep Stock­judg­ing. First place win­ners in each cat­e­gory won a place on the Macra na Feirme prizewin­ners’ trip abroad.

Club of the Year win­ners Ramor Macra, Ca­van, with Macra na­tional pres­i­dent James Healy.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.