Saints go march­ing on

New Ross Standard - - SPORT - DAVE DEV­EREUX


ST. MARTIN’S eased into the semi-fi­nal of the Per­ma­nent TSB Ju­nior ‘A’ hurl­ing cham­pi­onship with a com­pre­hen­sive win over Cloughbawn in Bree on Sun­day.

First-half goals from Kyle Fir­man and Conor Cole­man helped them to an in­sur­mount­able 2-14 to 0-4 half-time lead, and although Cloughbawn gave a bet­ter show­ing af­ter the in­ter­val they were merely play­ing for pride.

The Pierces­town and Mur­rin­town men were out of the blocks quickly, with Ben Maddock, David Cuth­bert, Conor Cole­man, Philip Dempsey and Kyle Fir­man all find­ing the range as they built up a 0-7 to 0-3 ad­van­tage.

They re­ally stamped their author­ity on the con­test with 14 min­utes on the clock, when Ben Maddock played a pin­point pass to Kyle Fir­man who turned and buried the ball to the net.

The Wex­ford District side con­tined to pick off points with con­sum­mate ease and they struck for a sec­ond goal mo­ments be­fore the in­ter­val.

David Cuth­bert teed up the in­rush­ing Conor Cole­man and he planted a shot past Cloughbawn goal­keeper Cathal Spratt.

Spratt was again pick­ing the ball out of his net three min­utes af­ter the turn­around, with Cole­man again do­ing the need­ful af­ter rac­ing clear.

Cloughbawn picked off a cou­ple of nice points, with J.P. Fur­long, Michael Red­mond and Thomas Fo­ley get­ting on the score­sheet, and they got the goal their en­deav­our de­served in the 40th minute, with Joey Lawlor fin­ish­ing at the sec­ond at­tempt af­ter his free was blocked on the line.

How­ever, St. Martin’s were much the bet­ter side and Kyle Fir­man floated over a few classy scores late on as they marched on to the fi­nal four.

St. Martin’s: Dy­lan Byrne; Pádraig Ros­siter, Tony Kelly, Philip Dempsey (0-1); Adrian Ryan (capt., 0-1), John Cole­man (0-1 free), Kevin Price; Ben Maddock (0-1), Johnny Hamil­ton; Conor Cole­man (2-6, 0-2 frees, 0-2 ‘65s), Richard Dev­ereux (0-1), Ryan Mur­phy (0-2); Kyle Fir­man (1-6), David Cuth­bert (0-3), Adam Cantwell (0-2). Subs. - Donal Kelly for Price, James Bog­gan for Cuth­bert, Diar­muid Byrne for C. Cole­man, Eoghan Rackard for Dev­ereux.

Cloughbawn: Cathal Spratt; Eanna Har­ring­ton, Tony Keat­ing, Gareth Mur­phy; Shane Flood, Colin Doyle, Jimmy Len­non; Robert Kin­sella (0-2), Thomas Fo­ley (0-1); Liam Ke­hoe, Colin Mur­phy, Michael Con­nors; J.P. Fur­long (0-2), Michael Red­mond (0-1), Joey Lawlor (capt., 1-6, 0-6 frees). Subs. - Aaron Byrne for Flood, Daniel Dempsey for Har­ring­ton, Eoin Doyle for Con­nors, David Casserly for Mur­phy.


(Clonard). Barry Red­mond

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.