Foot­ball All Stars 2017


The Irish Times - Sports Weekend - - FRONT PAGE - Malachy Clerkin

1 David Clarke (Mayo) Be­comes the sixth goal­keeper to win back-to-back All Stars. Made cru­cial saves through­out the sum­mer, no­tably against Cork, Kerry and Dublin.

2 Chris Bar­rett (Mayo) First-time win­ner. Was hav­ing a fine sea­son any­way but won his All Star in the All-Ire­land fi­nal, his tough tack­ling caus­ing myr­iad turnovers.

3 Michael Fitzsi­mons (Dublin) Has be­come Dublin’s most re­li­able house-min­der since Rory O’Car­roll’s de­par­ture. A hugely-trusted in­sur­ance pol­icy for the other de­fend­ers.

4 Keith Hig­gins (Mayo) Put in some mag­nif­i­cent dis­plays, no­tably on the front foot in the Roscom­mon re­play and in de­fence in the drawn Kerry game. This is his fourth All Star.

5 Colm Boyle (Mayo) Scorer of a bril­liant goal in the drawn Kerry game and man of the match in the re­play. Only ever stopped when his num­ber came up.

6 Cian O’Sul­li­van (Dublin) Played a more reg­u­la­tion cen­tre- back’ s role this sea­son, as op­posed to the deep-ly­ing sweeper of be­fore. The or­gan­i­sa­tional brains of the Dublin de­fence. Sec­ond All Star.

7 Jack McCaf­frey (Dublin) His fi­nal was cut cru­elly short but he was vir­tu­ally un­playable up to then. Ex­cel­lent against Ty­rone, giv­ing Dublin width and pace to beat the blan­ket. Sec­ond All Star. 8 Colm Ca­vanagh (Ty­rone) The only Ty­rone player to distin­guish him­self against Dublin. Ty­rone’s best de­fender all year and the heart­beat of the team. His first award.

9 James McCarthy (Dublin) Sec­ond award for the pow­er­house of the Dublin mid­field. Out­stand­ing in the All-Ire­land fi­nal, par­tic­u­larly in the clos­ing stages with the game on the line. Sec­ond award.

10 Dean Rock (Dublin) Four points from play in the fi­nal showed he was more than just a free-taker. He was that too, as his in­jury-time win­ner proved. Sec­ond award.

11 Ai­dan O’Shea (Mayo) Kept Mayo tick­ing through the wan­der­ing roads of the qual­i­fiers. Filled in wher­ever they needed him, in­clud­ing – in­fa­mously – full back.

12 Con O’Cal­laghan (Dublin) Had young player of the year wrapped up by the Le­in­ster fi­nal. Ruth­less fin­ishes for goals in the All-Ire­land semi-fi­nal and fi­nal be­lied his age.

13 Paul Man­nion (Dublin) Dublin’s most con­sis­tent score-get­ter. Eight points from play against West­meath, three each against Mon­aghan and Mayo. First award.

14 Paul Geaney (Kerry) Com­fort­ably Kerry’s lead­ing scorer, he was un­playable against Cork and put Keith Hig­gins to the pin of his col­lar against Mayo. Sec­ond All Star.

15 Andy Mo­ran (Mayo) His sec­ond award, six years af­ter his first. The best for­ward in the coun­try this sum­mer, lead­ing scorer from play with 3-24 to his name.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.