The Sligo Champion - - SPORT -


LADIES - Lady Pres­i­dent 18 Hole Sin­gle Stable­ford Com­pe­ti­tion SATUR­DAY 26th August WIN­NER:- At­tracta McGet­trick ( 20) 38pts 1ST Nett Cather­ine McManus ( 19) 37pts 2ND Nett Sinead McHugh ( 28) 36pts ( B6) GROSS Deirdre Con­nolly ( 13) 23pts ( B9) 3RD Nett Lia O’ Toole ( 36) 36pts ( B9) 4TH Nett Lea McDaid ( 16) 36 pts 5TH Carmel McGrath ( 24) 35pts ( B9) 29- 36 H/ C Patsy McEl­hone ( 34) 34pts COM­MIT­TEE Prize Vivi­enne Fo­ley ( 22) 34Pts PAST Pres­i­dent Gri­onne Dem­mel ( 18) 31Pts G. G. Doreen Al­ley Tro­phy Rita Walsh ( 26) 35Pts FRONT 9 Claudette Mur­phy ( 13) 20pts ( B6) BACK 9 Maura Dem­mel ( 29) 19pts ( B6) CSS 74 PUTTING Mary Horkan ( 26) GUEST Lady Bri­die Henry ( 35) GUEST Man Brian Henry ( 6) JU­NIOR Girl So­phie Reynolds ( 26) MEN’S Prize ( Bo­more) ALAN Gaynor


COM­PE­TI­TION Re­sults SEMI Open Satur­day August 26th 1ST Der­mot o’Lough­lin( 24) y 38pts b9 2ND Em­mett Pey­ton( 9) y 38pts CSS white 36pts yel­low 37pts SUN­DAY August 27th OF­FICE Pro Bal­lina and Castle­bar STABLE­FORD 1ST Der­mot Devine( 12) y 44pts 2ND Joseph Forde( 10) w 39pts 3RD John Kelly( 12) y 38pts 4TH Noel En­right( 21) y 37pts b9 5TH Richie Cloo­nan( 12) y 37pts CSS white 36pts yel­low 37pts OPEN day every Thurs­day. Semi open every satur­day. 096 36297 for timesheet SUN­DAY 27th August 2017 LADIES Re­sults 18 Hole Stable­ford SPON­SORED by Dr Joe Gil­varry & Mrs Sam Gil­varry 1ST Joan Ruane ( 15) 38 pts 2ND Jane Cre­ane ( 25) 37 pts ( bk 9) 3RD Marie Var­ley ( 28) 37 pts 4TH Mar­guerite Mur­phy ( 20) 36 pts CSS 33 PT


WE wit­nessed two hole in one’s on the 2nd this week. Con­grat­u­la­tions to Jim Owens and Pat Thorn­ton on join­ing the Hole in One Club well done. ON a week­end of ex­cel­lent scor­ing con­di­tions Kevin Davey had to amass 42 points to win the Stable­ford Com­pe­ti­tion on Satur­day and Padraic Tuffy had an ex­cel­lent 64 to win the Sun­day Stroke play com­pe­ti­tion. Padraic earned some much needed points in the GOY Or­der of Merit and in­ci­den­tially Padraic is the spon­sor of the GOY in the club well done Padraic. THE re­sults of the com­pe­ti­tions from this week are de­tailed be­low. TUE 22nd August 9 Hole Stable­ford. 1ST Chris­tian Borth­wick 25pts FRI 25th August 18 Hole Open Stable­ford. 1ST Cor­mac Sheehy - Castlerea 40pts 2ND Padraic Tuffy 37pts 3RD Philip Mo­ri­ar­ity 37pts SAT 26th August MLM Health­care 18 Hole Stable­ford. 1ST Kevin Davey 42pts 2ND Alan Lil­lis 41pts 3RD Jamie McGar­rigle 41pts 4TH Peter Ma­honey 41pts SUN 27th August MLM Sup­pli­ers 18 Hole Stroke­play ( GOY). 1ST Padraic Tuffy 64 2ND Diar­muid Fi­nan 65 3RD Pat Cor­co­ran 66 4TH Stephen English 68 RORY O’Con­nor Gross


RE­SULTS SUN­DAY 27th 18 hole syable­ford SPON­SOR Golf­style Gal­way 1ST Eoin Gal­lagher 43 pts 2ND Michael Kelly 42 pts 3RD Joe Kil­coyne 41 pts FIX­TURES SUN­DAY 3rd 18 hole stroke spon­sored by Lawrence Engi­neer­ing CON­NACHT fi­nal SATUR­DAY next the 1st leg of the Jack O’Sul­li­van tro­phy will be played in Tub­ber­curry. The op­po­nents are Castle­bar JACK O’Sul­li­van tro­phy ON Satur­day next 2nd Sept Tub­ber­curry golf club will play in the Con­nacht fi­nal of the Jack O’Sul­li­van tro­phy. THEIR op­po­nents will be Castle­bar golf club THE fi­nal will be played over 2 legs. The first in Tub­ber­curry and the 2nd leg in Castle­bar golf club on Satur­day 9th. TUB­BER­CURRY de­feated Oughter­ard on Thurs­day last. The con­di­tions were de­mand­ing af­ter a num­ber of days rain which con­tin­ued dur­ing the match on Thurs­day MATCHES were won at home by Char­lie Scan­lon and Shane McQuil­lan MARK Burke and Keith Fee­hily won as well as Ro­nan Forkin and Colm McGee win­ning a match away PADRAIG McDon­agh and Dy­lan Craig halved their match at home FER­GUS Mar­ren and Michael Hearn lost their match away. THE for­mat is four ball bet­ter ball SO next Sat in Tub­ber­curry come and sup­port the team against Castle­bar.

Prizewin­ners of the Captain’s Prize to the Ladies in Co Sligo Golf Club: M McGar­raghy, C McManus, Lady Captain Mar­garet Con­lon, M McGillen, E McSharry and M McTer­nan.

K Dunne, Z Dunne and E R Feeney win­ners of the Con­nacht girls team pre­sent­ing the pen­nant to Lady Captain Mar­garet Con­lon and Lady Pres­i­dent Sheila McMunn at Co Sligo Golf Club.

Maeve Rooney, Co Sligo Golf Club, be­ing con­grat­u­lated by Lady Captain Mar­garet Con­lon on her se­lec­tion for the Ir­ish Girls In­ter­na­tional team 2017.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.