Naomh Eoin win Bren­nan Cup

The Sligo Champion - - SPORT -

NOAMH EOIN is cel­e­brat­ing the his­toric ex­ploits of the club’s se­nior hurl­ing team who cap­tured the Martin Bren­nan Cup last Wed­nes­day evening in Tourlestrane.

They de­feated de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons Calry St Joseph’s 1-16 to 0-8.

This was their first se­nior hurl­ing ti­tle in over ten years and the club’s first time to win this pres­ti­gious tro­phy which is ded­i­cated to the mem­ory of the Tourlestrane hurl­ing leg­end and club­man Martin Bren­nan. His wife Anne pre­sented the cup to cap­tain Tommy O’Cal­laghan who paid trib­ute to the mem­ory of Martin.

The fi­nal came five days af­ter a dis­ap­point­ing loss to Naomh Eoin’s city ri­vals in Round 4 of the Sligo SHC the pre­vi­ous Satur­day, and the lads cer­tainly made amends with a de­ter­mined, ath­letic and skil­ful per­for­mance from start to fin­ish.

Ger­ard O’Kelly-Lynch gave a man-of-the-match dis­play with his re­lent­less work rate and fin­ish­ing in­spir­ing his team mates to over­whelm the Calry team, and con­tribut­ing 0-11 to the over­all to­tal of 1-16.

At half-time Naomh Eoin led 0-11 to 0-3 with O’Kelly-Lynch fir­ing over 8 points from frees and play as they dom­i­nated the cen­tral po­si­tions and tack­led fiercely. Paul Kil­coyne, Ke­van Bren­nan, and Tony O’Kelly-Lynch also con­trib­uted to the scoreboard with fine points from play from a range of po­si­tions and fol­low­ing some re­silient play by the backs.

Mat­tie Davey was su­perb at full back and the half back line were dom­i­nant with Ryan Fee­hily par­tic­u­larly ef­fec­tive.

In the sec­ond half the ex­pe­ri­enced Calry/St Joseph’s hurlers fought back and for the first ten min­utes scores were even and hard to come by.

Niall Camp­bell in his first year at the se­nior grade scored a goal fol­low­ing a re­bounded strike from Paul Kil­coyne, and both Ger­ard and Tony O’Kelly-Lynch added key points in an his­toric vic­tory for the club.

NAOMH EOIN: Michael Healy; Tommy O’Cal­laghan (Capt.), Mat­tie Davey, David Hickey; Ryan Fee­hily, Niall Fee­hily, Cathal Jor­dan; Ger­ard O’Kelly-Lynch (0-11, 7f), Tony O’Kelly-Lynch (0-2); Donal Fid­geon, Paul Kil­coyne (0-2), Ke­van Bren­nan (0-1); Conor McGovern, Colm Dolan, Niall Camp­bell (1-1). Subs: Roan Con­neely, Ger Leamy, Evan Davey, Sean O’Con­nor, Kieran Dono­hue, Alan Kelly.

The Naomh Eoin se­nior hurlers who won the Martin Bren­nan Cup in Tourlestrane af­ter they de­feated hold­ers Calry/St Joseph’s.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.