Dres­sage sea­son draws to a close

Wicklow People (Arklow) - - NEWS - By MYLES BUCHANAN

A GROUP of four Ash­ford riders cer­tainly brought their A-game to the East­ern Re­gion Dres­sage Leagues at Marl­ton Stud where they were crowned the cham­pi­ons of the team event.

Run­ning along­side the league on Satur­day, Septem­ber 2, was the David Pin­nell Memo­rial team com­pe­ti­tion, which was open to all classes and which in­volved teams of three or four riders, with the top three scores count­ing.

Ca­role Thorn­ton, a list 1 judge from the UK, was joined on the judg­ing panel by Vanda Robin­son and Damian McCor­mack.

For many com­peti­tors, it was an op­por­tu­nity to get some fi­nal prac­tice in prior to The Na­tional Cham­pi­onships later this month.

This year, two new sec­tions were added to the league’s cat­e­gories: the Trail­blaz­ers and the Ir­ish Breeds cat­e­gory. The trail­blaz­ers cham­pi­onship was very closely fought and it was late in the day be­fore Rebecca Payne and the ever con­sis­tent Casper the Ghost emerged as the win­ners.

The Ir­ish na­tive breed sec­tion was dom­i­nated by Con­nemara ponies, with Ni­amh Nolan and Bar­raval­ley Light­en­ing win­ning this sec­tion. This com­bi­na­tion also took home both reds in her pre­lim­i­nary sec­tion.

The high­est per­cent­age of the day was from the FEI fouryear-old class, where Colm Fitz­patrick and Hadrian C De Jeu scored 81.30 per cent.

The Pre­lim­i­nary League Cham­pion was Daphne Lush and Mill­point Car­ni­val.

Laura Hall of Ash­ford and Kasala Casanova were crowned the novice cham­pi­ons. Laura has had a very sucess­ful year with her two horses and also won the ele­men­tary league with her other horse Strat­ton­stown War­rior

The ad­vanced sec­tion went to Karen Ben­nett with her Stal­lion Urco. The fi­nal pre­sen­ta­tion of the day was for team com­pe­ti­tion and the award went to a team of Ash­ford lo­cals – aptly called ‘The A Team’ – fea­tur­ing Colm Fitz­patrick, Finn O’Gara, San­dra Stan­ley and Laura Hall.

Ash­ford lo­cals Laura Hall, San­dra Stan­ley, Colm Fitz­patrick and Finn O’Gara, who won the team com­pe­ti­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.