Wicklow People (Arklow) - - PICTURES - By MYLES BUCHANAN

CILL Mhan­tain Scouts held its county AGM on Satur­day and de­cided to make a day of it by putting on a day of ac­tiv­i­ties at Lough Dan Scout Cen­tre.

Over 60 scouters from 15 dif­fer­ent Gar­den County troops at­tended the event and mixed to­gether while learn­ing new pro­gramme ideas they can now bring back to their own area. Ac­tiv­i­ties in­cluded archery, en­vi­ron­men­tal sta­tions and the con­struc­tion of bird boxes.

Camp Chief Zef Klinken­bergh also show­cased some of the en­vi­ron­men­tal projects he has been work­ing on as part of his newly launched web­site ti­tled http://eco.lough­ The web­site is full of ideas to re-con­nect scouts with na­ture, green up their scout den or rewild their scout pro­gramme.

The day’s ac­tiv­i­ties were fol­lowed by a re­laxed bar­be­cue where scouters who couldn’t make the ear­lier events could join in and get to know some of the scouters from other groups.

The AGM it­self con­tin­ued in the same re­laxed at­mos­phere with many in­di­vid­u­als from the var­i­ous groups be­ing pre­sented with ser­vice awards.

Zef Klinken­bergh re­ceived a thank you gift from the county for his con­tin­ued help and sup­port. Stephen Keenan, 3rd Wick­low, was pre­sented with a Merit Award for long and ex­cep­tional ser­vice to scout­ing and a thank you gift from the county for his many years as county trainer. Cill Mhan­tain County Com­mis­sioner Der­mot Moore re­ceived his Wood­badge cer­tifi­cate from the World Or- gan­i­sa­tion of the Scout Move­ment for com­plet­ing his County Com­mis­sioner ad­vanced train­ing course. This was pre­sented to Der­mot by Provin­cial Com­mis­sioner Kevin Mur­phy.

Fol­low­ing the AGM, some scouters stayed overnight and en­joyed net­work­ing in the calm­ing set­ting of Lough Dan Hos­tel, spend­ing their time dec­o­rat­ing their hand­made bird boxes and whit­tling hik­ing sticks into the early hours.

Cill Mhan­táin Scouts has 15 troops, with mem­bers rang­ing in age from six up to 26.

Nora Kennedy, Susan Rice, Dave Fen­nessy and Fiona Byrne from 7th Wick­low re­ceive their ser­vice awards from Der­mot Moore (sec­ond from right) at the Cill Mhan­tain Scouts AGM. PHO­TOS BY BAR­BARA FLYNN

Pa­trick Pirkl, Anita Oman Wrynn and Paul Dil­lon from 5th Wick­low re­ceive their five-year ser­vice awards from Der­mot Moore.

Eil­ish Tier­ney re­ceives the bronze mer­i­to­ri­ous award from Der­mot Moore.

Fiona and Stephen Keenan re­ceive the bronze merit award from Wick­low Com­mis­sioner Der­mot Moore.

Tony Wright, the newly elected leader of 19th Wick­low (Grey­stones), ac­cepts the SQS qual­ity award from Wick­low Com­mis­sioner Der­mot Moore.

Zef Klinken­berg re­ceives a spe­cial pre­sen­ta­tion from Der­mot Moore to mark his re­tire­ment.

Provin­cial Com­mis­sioner Kevin Mur­phy pre­sents the wood badge cer­tifi­cate to Wick­low Com­mis­sioner Der­mot Moore.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.