Le­in­ster win livens mood

Wicklow People (West Edition) - - PICTURES - By MYLES BUCHANAN

MORE THAN 190 peo­ple at­tended Wick­low Rugby Club’s din­ner dance in the Grand Ho­tel, in­clud­ing the Pres­i­dents of neigh­bour­ing clubs in Rath­drum, Ark­low and Grey­stones.

Most of the guests were al­ready in ju­bi­lant form even be­fore the start of the din­ner dance af­ter watch­ing Le­in­ster’s nail bit­ing vic­tory over Rac­ing 92 in the Eu­ro­pean Cham­pi­ons Cup held ear­lier that af­ter­noon in Bil­bao.

There was fur­ther rea­son to celebrate with the re­cent an­nounce­ment of Wick­low RFC as the Le­in­ster Rugby 2018 ‘Ju­nior Club of the Year’.

The club also had the hon­our of host­ing this year’s Towns Cup Fi­nal be­tween Tul­low RFC and En­nis­cor­thy RFC which was held at Ash­town Lane in April.

Michael Doyle and Eimear Flem­ing were in at­ten­dance af­ter their re­cent en­gage­ment.

Noel Green was cel­e­brat­ing his 40th birth­day, while Alex Porter was mark­ing his 21st birth­day.

Pres­i­dent Bert Ni­chol­son also spoke about fu­ture plans for the club.

In the women’s sec­tion the young player of the year was Caitlin Griffey. The award for most im­proved player went to Me­gan McCon­nell. Amy O’Neill was the player of the year.

The young player of the year for the men was Jonathan Hop­kins. The most im­proved player of the year was Neil Dick­en­son.

Neil Kear­ney was pre­sented with the award for sec­ond team player of the year.

Shane Far­rar was the player of the year.

The Clarke Auc­tion­eers ‘Club-per­son of the Year’ tro­phy was pre­sented to de­serv­ing winners Lynn and Cyril Arm­strong. Noel Green col­lected the Pe­ter Duffy Memo­rial Tro­phy for out­stand­ing ser­vice to the club. The Mervyn Mor­ri­son Memo­rial Cup for coach of the year was won by Frank Roberts and Mark Kin­lan.

Ed­die Downes, Den­nis Hig­gins, Ja­son Byrne and Timmy O’Dovo­van.

Dun­can and Cather­ine Duke and Therese Porter.

Harry No­nan, Cor­mac Mur­ray, Paddy McKenzie, Cor­mac Fen­ton, Adam Cullen, Luke Thomp­son and Scott Burleigh.

Mark Ni­chol­son, Cyril Arm­strong and Conor Vize.

Alex Porter and Me­gan McCon­nell.

Vic­to­ria Rice and Kate Byrne.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.