Amer­i­can Lloyd heads FIFA women’s award list

Jamaica Gleaner - - SPORTS -

ZURICH, Switzer­land (AP):

Carli Lloyd will de­fend her FIFA women’s Player of the Year award against a num­ber of ri­vals, in­clud­ing three Olympic cham­pi­ons from Ger­many and five-time win­ner Marta.

Lloyd is the United States’ only nom­i­nee on a 10-player list an­nounced by FIFA yes­ter­day after the 2015 World Cup win­ners lost in the Olympic quar­ter­fi­nals in Rio de Janeiro.

Ger­many have for­ward Dzsenifer Marozsan, who scored in a 2-1 win over Swe­den in the gold medal match, as well as mid­field­ers Me­lanie Behringer and Sara Daebritz on the list. Behringer re­tired after the Olympics, hav­ing played more than 100 times for her coun­try.

Each of the trio aims to be the third dif­fer­ent Ger­man win­ner in the past four years.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Jamaica

© PressReader. All rights reserved.